VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi guys

I'm pretty new here but i have some experience with VHS capturing...
    Last i used my tools was probably 3 or 4 years ago... It was time to set up all stuff again but its seems i'll need to upgrade at least the capture card...

My old system was featuring -
    AverTV DVB-S PRO (a700) /S-video IN)
    WinDVR 3 - i was thinking it was the best capture program at the time, and its strange for me that did not see you to talk about it here.
    VCR - NOVA (dont know the model) its was doing a good job.

Okay now i have DAEWOO DV-F24D which i think its better then the NOVA.
    I'm still thinking to use WinDVR3 - if there is better solution i'll give a try!

And the major question is:
    The windows does not detecting the AVerMedia, same problem on the other computer. Both are Windows 7 which is may be part of the problem. It is PCI (not PCI-E), I tested on all slots and nothing... It seems i need to replace it. From what i read the best options out there are ATI AMD TV Wonder 650 PCI, Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR, Hauppauge PVR-350 and Aver HD PVR. I cant find Ati 650 here in Europe. All offers i found on amazon and ebay are from Canada and USA. The other two options are PCI -E and i don't have free pci-e slots. So is there any alternatives of this cards?

Thanks for your time
    What should i do?
    Last edited by TheCage; 8th Feb 2013 at 04:46.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Avermedia is a great company and their capture products work very well(I have an old 2003 capture card that still works well). They have good support and your card seems to have support for Win 7 as mine does. Go download all the Win7 drivers from their website. I wouldn't use Windvr it's old and meant for Win xp. Do you just want to archive your VHS tapes and make DVDs out of them ? There are lots of progs out there for that. If the card is still operable in the end keep it and use it, like I said their products are good.