VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all, I am new to video encoding, but I have read a lot about it.
    However, I find it difficult to remove the ghost effect from the dvb-t captures of my tv-tuner card....
    Here is a screenshot:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	mario 1.ts_snapshot_07.27_[2013.01.09_16.25.55].jpg
Views:	737
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	15661

I have tried several deinterlacers and programs to solve this but none seems to do the trick
    I prefer using MeGui, but any other software that works is welcome
    Here is a video part in case someone wants to experiment on it:
    TVmario.ts
    Quote Quote  
  2. Have your tried sRestore and the typical Fieldblending and Frameblending removal-filters?
    sRestore(23.976) looks like a good start,...
    additionally I would crop to:
    Crop(24,0,678,570)
    than resize to:
    Spline16Resize(704,504)
    and encode with an NTSC 4:3 PAR

Cu Selur

Ps.: Your content is flagged top field first, but is really progressive.
    Last edited by Selur; 9th Jan 2013 at 12:14.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for your reply Selur!
    You really gave me great food for thought and experiment. So this originally was an ntsc video that was transformed into a pal video and the change in framerate created double frames (with a little help from the deinterlace filter that was used in this transcoding I suppose...)

But what if I want to keep it a pal video? Then I am stuck with this ghost - double frame effect?

And another question: How does someone install avisynth filters in megui? You just put them in the avisynth tools folder?
    Quote Quote  
  4. But what if I want to keep it a pal video? Then I am stuck with this ghost - double frame effect?
    That's why I posted the link to the Fieldblending and Frameblending removal-filters,...

How does someone install avisynth filters in megui? You just put them in the avisynth tools folder?