VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,
    I am new to home video, mostly, but have lots of questions and could really use some guidance. I had a hi8 camera back in the early 90's. I took mostly family movies of events and trips, the usual stuff. About 4 years ago before the birth of my first son, (and since my hi8 Sony died) I bought a Canon Vixia HV30 DV tape camera, and have been using it ever since. I am now trying to archive what I have already shot (so that I can work with the footage but not have to continually drag out the tapes and possibly damage/wear them or wear out the camera motor) and this is the area where most of my questions will be at.

Now like all forums, I know you are probably more than tired of "newbie questions", and I don't want to be that guy. I have snooped around here some looking for a comprehensive FAQ section, but either there isn't one or I am just blind.

Anyways, what I am working with so far. I am open to attaining other resources if it gets me to my goal.

Canon Vixia HV30 DV tape camera
    Sony Vegas Movie Studio 9 (Don't know how helpful this is, it was a gift)
    PC with Windows 7. Fire-wire card installed
    WinDV downloaded/installed
    1.5T and 2T External hard drives for storage
    Panasonic Viera VT30 65" Plasma (supports 24fps playback)

I have transferred over a tape or two, just trying out the fire-wire card and working with WinDV. Everything worked.
    Here is what I want to end up with, if possible: