VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, does anybody here how to convert a DTS-HD MA 7.1 audio file into 8 WAVS (channels) files ? I tryed with eac3to but no success here, it only output 6 audio files instead of 8 (which is to total amount contained in a DTS-HD MA 7.1 audio file, if I'm not wrong).

    Anyone can help me with this, please ?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    There ought to be an easier way (I just don't know of it), but you can always fall back on:

    Load your BD into BD player software (Cyberlink Pdvd, TMT, Corel Windvd) and PLAY it, recording "what you hear is what you get" into audio editor, then trim to exact length after.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    You need the Arcsoft DTS Decoder to be able to decode DTS-HD MA with Eac3to, regardless of the number of channels. The reason you only get 6 mono wav files is because libav can only decode the DTS core.

    Now, the good news is, you only need to install a trial version of Arcsoft Total Meia Theatre to get the decoder. Try it out and report back.

    Before you do the actual decoding, you can check if Eac3to recognizes the Arcsoft DTS Decoder by using :

    eac3to -test
    Last edited by Island_Dweller; 3rd Jan 2013 at 05:49.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    "Before you do the actual decoding, you can check if Eac3to recognizes the Arcsoft DTS Decoder by using :

    eac3to -test"

    Hi Island_Dweller, at that point, I'm afraid that I'm a total noob with the software. Could you please explain me how can I do this ? I've already installed The arcsoft Total Media Theatre, but how can I make eac3to to recognize and use the dts decoder is what I would like to know. If you have a tutorial or something like that, it will be greatly appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  5. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by monks19 View Post
    Hi Island_Dweller, at that point, I'm afraid that I'm a total noob with the software. Could you please explain me how can I do this ? I've already installed The arcsoft Total Media Theatre, but how can I make eac3to to recognize and use the dts decoder is what I would like to know. If you have a tutorial or something like that, it will be greatly appreciated.
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1306019#post1306019
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi El Heggunte, thanks for the link, but unfortunately it doesn't help either. I've got the recent version of total media theatre 5 which doesn't work like version 2 or 3. Any new way on how I should do this ?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    i know but i can't tell it is a copyright problem.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    UPDATE: I've managed to get the 8 files mentioned by El Heggunte and put them into the Eac3to directory. That's all could do for now. Any Ideas on what else must be done in order to achiev this ?

    Thanks to answer
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    El Heggunte already gave you the answer, but here goes :

    1. Copy ALL the following 8 files to your eac3to folder :

    ASAudioHD.ax
    checkactivate.dll
    DtsDec.dll
    dtsdecoderdll.dll
    MagCore.dll
    MagPCMac.dll
    MagUIEngine.dll
    MagUIInter.dll
    2. Open a COMMAND PROMPT (cmd.exe) as administrator and type :

    Code:
    regsvr32 "path_to_eac3to\ASAudioHD.ax"
    path_to_eac3to should be changed to your working eac3to folder.

    Mine is "D:\eac3to", so it would become regsvr32 "D:\eac3to\ASAudioHD.ax"

    Run eac3to -test to check if it's working.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Any Ideas on what else must be done in order to achiev this ?
    Like mentioned before you need a decoder that can properly decode 7.1 dts-hd audio, no way around that.
    Problem is there is no freeware dts-hd decoder available. (remember: libav can only decode the dts core which is 5.1)
    -> so the only other solutions would:
    a. find another decoder that can decoder the dts-hd stream
    b. extend the libav to decode the dts-hd information. Summer of Coding 2012, had a project for this (see: http://wiki.multimedia.cx/index.php?title=Libav_Summer_Of_Code_2012#DTS-HD_decoder), but from the looks of it nobody took up the task.
    c. find another application (may be some professional Blu-ray authoring software that can do the job)

    Cu Selur
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, Island_Dweller, I just tryed this but each time it says: "The specified path could not be found". If I did something whong, I don't know what... Do you think you can help me sort this ?


    UPDATE: Here's what happen when I paste the code in the CMD :Name:  errormessage_zpsec52f3aa.jpg
Views: 8784
Size:  53.3 KB

    So, what else now ?
    Last edited by monks19; 4th Jan 2013 at 07:01.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    As I said before:

    path_to_eac3to should be changed to your working eac3to folder.

    Mine is "D:\eac3to", so it would become regsvr32 "D:\eac3to\ASAudioHD.ax"
    Where is your eac3to folder located?

    for convenience, just copy the eac3to folder to the root of the C drive, then type the following in cmd.exe
    regsvr32 "C:\eac3to\ASAudioHD.ax"
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, I've copyed the eac3to folder in C:\Program Files (I think that's what you meant by "root of the C drive "). Then, I open CMD and add your code (copy/paste)
    Click image for larger version

Name:	CMDimage_zps6c5480da.jpg
Views:	8170
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	15528

    No success here, still the same error message Any other ideas ?
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by monks19 View Post
    Ok, I've copyed the eac3to folder in C:\Program Files (I think that's what you meant by "root of the C drive "). Then, I open CMD and add your code (copy/paste)
    Image
    [Attachment 15528 - Click to enlarge]


    No success here, still the same error message Any other ideas ?

    It's still the wrong path . Notice

    C:\eac3to

    is different than

    c:\Program Files\eac3to

    The "root" refers to C:\ , not C:\Program Files . Either change your commandline, or copy the eac3to folder to C:\
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, it's been corrected. Now it's asking me to chooce a program in Windows to open ASAudioHD.ax. What do I chose ?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    No, you don't need to open it, it simply needs to be added to your windows registry so Eac3to will recognize it.

    Where is the eac3to folder now? I recommend using C:\eac3to as it's more convenient.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    It's in the C drive, now. But Windows is now asking me to chose a program to open the ASAudioHD.ax

    Click image for larger version

Name:	openwindows_zpsde6c2255.jpg
Views:	6261
Size:	114.5 KB
ID:	15546

    What do I do with that and what do I do next ?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    So, typing

    regsvr32 "C:\eac3to\ASAudioHD.ax"
    in cmd results in windows asking you to choose a program to open the file? That is odd.

    I just tried this again on a win 7 x64 machine and it worked fine.


    Edit:
    You might also try with a bat file.

    1) Open notepad
    2) enter "regsvr32 ASAudioHD.ax", without the quotes
    3) Save this file as "whatever.bat" in your eac3to folder
    4) Double click on the bat file to run it.
    Last edited by Island_Dweller; 5th Jan 2013 at 08:05.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, I'll try again an see if the same thing happen.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, it's done now. The association was done successfullu (finaly). Now, next step. What GUI do you recommand me to use ? Normally I use
    HD-DVD/Blu-Ray Stream Extractor, but I don't know with this new change... What do you recommand ?
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    The first thing you need to do is confirm that Eac3to is "seeing" the Arcsoft decoder.

    1) open cmd
    2) type cd C:\eac3to
    3) type eac3to -test

    If it says ArcSoft DTS Decoder works fine, then you can use HD-DVD/Blu-Ray Stream Extractor to get wavs files.
    Just select the dts-hd track, and under "extract as", choose WAVS.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, I think this is it, now.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	DONE_zpscb2efa12.jpg
Views:	4273
Size:	85.9 KB
ID:	15550

    Do I have to put HD-DVD/Blu-Ray Stream Extractor in the eac3to folder in order to work?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, just copy "HdBrStreamExtractor.exe" and "HdBrStreamExtractor.exe.config" to the eac3to folder and you're all set.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    It's working. Thanks again.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Indian Ocean
    Search Comp PM
    You're welcome! I'm glad you got this sorted out. I had the same amount of difficulty when I first tried to use Eac3to, but some smart people helped me out and I'm more than happy to pass on the knowledge.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    Search Comp PM
    island_dweller you have the patience of a saint. thanks for this thread. very helpful to me with my new project. this answers every question I had on how to get the channels extracted from my DTS-HD MA 7.1 disc.
    Welcome to the desert of the real
    Quote Quote