VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Thread
  1. Hi Guys,

    First of all, this is my first thread but I am pretty old to this forum. I have been reading this forum for multiple issues/queries related to dvd authoring for quite sometime now and its been really helpful and you guys are simply fantastic.

    Now, my query is about adding a watermark logo which only appears on certain scenes(as per my wish). I have seen this in Ayngaran dvd where the logo "Ayngaran DVD" appears(at the right hand side bottom) on certain scenes and then disappears. I don't want it to be permanent.

    I searched this forum for the above but couldn't find anything which does the exact thing.

    I am using DVD-lab pro2 to author dvds and couldn't find the same. Can any one please help ?

    Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Is there any option within DVD-lab pro2 to embedded subtitle and I don't the option set subtitle to default which will eventually allow turning off using dvd remote controller. I did find the option to embed subtitle in Convertxtodvd which I use to convert movies before using Dvdlabpro2 to customize them but that doesn't seems to working too. Can anyone help ?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    As for watermark, DVD-Lab cannot do it.
    Subtitles can be inserted with Lab and set to be turned on by default. In a Movie window there are,underneath, two audio tracks and one Sub track. If you click on Sub track new window will open where you can add subtitles. There is also a check box marked "Set this subtitle ON by default", if you check that, subs will be turned ON with the start of the movie.

    Here is something for watermarking

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/335034-Adding-a-watermark-to-an-mpeg-2-video-file
    Last edited by tinker; 18th Dec 2012 at 13:57.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thanks tinker !

    But I see they all re-encode the entire video. I would like just keep the logo/watermark as a subtitle and something which won't stick to the video. That's how they do in Ayngaran DVD(I don't screenshot at the moment but I can get it probably next week)...you can simply change its color using PgcEdit.

    Is there anything apps/software which does this ??

    To add the above, the new ConvertxtoDVD v5 does add the logo/watermark(just like Virtualdub) but not like the one I said above.
    Last edited by BRFan; 20th Dec 2012 at 00:48.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by BRFan View Post
    Is there anything apps/software which does this ??
    That does what? Allows you to add subtitles to a DVD? Yes, just about any authoring program allows for this. You just have to have prepared the subs in advance in a format your authoring program accepts.
    But I see they all re-encode the entire video.
    If your video is already DVD compliant, it shouldn't be reencoded. That's not the function of an authoring program anyway. Maybe you're talking about burning the subs into the video? Then it has to be reencoded, yes.

    Have you made your 'logo' into a subtitle file yet? If so, in which format? And a logo, even one on intermittently, is a really dumb idea and shows no respect for the video underneath. Just because this Ayngaran and about every other Indian film DVD company does it doesn't mean it's a good idea. The first thing I do when I have an Indian DVD with a logo subtitle (Baba Traders does this also) is to get rid of it.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    Have you made your 'logo' into a subtitle file yet? If so, in which format? And a logo, even one on intermittently, is a really dumb idea and shows no respect for the video underneath. Just because this Ayngaran and about every other Indian film DVD company does it doesn't mean it's a good idea. The first thing I do when I have an Indian DVD with a logo subtitle (Baba Traders does this also) is to get rid of it.
    A small number of mainland China video companies do this bs too with putting a logo in their videos, but fortunately it's not very many.

    I want to point out to the original poster that some players don't respect the forced subtitles flag and will allow users to turn them off.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Like manono say, if you put subs or watermark into a video, it has to be re encoded.
    You can experimant with a "Button Over Video" in DVD Lab, may be it will do what you want.
    Quote Quote  
  8. First of all, I am happy to see these many responses to my queries... Thank you all

    Originally Posted by tinker View Post
    Like manono say, if you put subs or watermark into a video, it has to be re encoded.
    You can experimant with a "Button Over Video" in DVD Lab, may be it will do what you want.
    Thanks dude for this tip... I will try this for sure...I never had a chance to think about this or use this...I saw the movie dvds using this option to switch between alternate endings...

    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    Have you made your 'logo' into a subtitle file yet? If so, in which format? And a logo, even one on intermittently, is a really dumb idea and shows no respect for the video underneath. Just because this Ayngaran and about every other Indian film DVD company does it doesn't mean it's a good idea. The first thing I do when I have an Indian DVD with a logo subtitle (Baba Traders does this also) is to get rid of it.
    I agree its bad idea to have a logo...even I do get frustrated when I find them sticking around in most part of my movie so thats why I want them intermittent for few secs...
    Well, I may sound boring...it is not because I do want to use it but it is know how its being done...Curiosity
    I use the "srt" for subtitles...

    Originally Posted by jman98 View Post
    I want to point out to the original poster that some players don't respect the forced subtitles flag and will allow users to turn them off.
    New information for me...I had never seen dvd player doing this before...Thanks
    Last edited by BRFan; 20th Dec 2012 at 22:56.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by BRFan View Post
    I agree its bad idea to have a logo
    Then don't put one on, even for a few seconds at a time. They're ugly and deface the video.
    I use the "srt" for subtitles...
    So, create your SRT subs with the text you want and the times you want it to show up, and use an authoring program that accepts SRT subs as input. There's nothing very difficult about any of this. What don't you understand? At least I don't have to watch your movie with your own special logo plastered on it.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by manono View Post
    So, create your SRT subs with the text you want and the times you want it to show up, and use an authoring program that accepts SRT subs as input. There's nothing very difficult about any of this.
    If its not that difficult for you...can you share the info ?
    Quote Quote  
  11. What do you want to do? Create an SRT subtitle? There are many programs for this. I create SSA subs so the program I use won't suit you. But Subtitle Workshop, SubtitleCreator and many more can do this. Click on those two links and at the bottom of their respective pages are guides for their use. In addition each has help files, and the Subtitle Workshop one is especially good. Start reading.
    Quote Quote  
  12. They both are good S/Ws but both didn't answer my initial request. Anyhow thanks, will browse and post if I get something relevant.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I hope it's okay to ask as it is slightly off topic
    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    The first thing I do when I have an Indian DVD with a logo subtitle (...) is to get rid of it.
    manono, how do you do that?
    I have a couple of Indian DVD's with a logo in the corner and a colored one no less.
    I agree with you it's a lack of respect for the movie and its director.
    Quote Quote  
  14. If it's really a logo subtitle, I OCR the subs and make sure not to include the logo. There are often 2 sub streams, one with the logo alone so that even if you don't use the subs you still get the logo, and another with both the subs and the logo. I get rid of one and OCR the other.

    But I doubt if this is the case with you. You most likely have a logo 'burned' or 'hardcoded' into the video as that's the more common case. What you do with it depends on whether or not it's a translucent (see-through) logo, or an opaque one. If it's translucent I use the LogoTools filter in AviSynth and can usually do a pretty good job of completely removing it.

    If it's opaque I use AviSynth's InpaintFunc:

    http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/InpaintFunc

    It tries to reproduce what was once underneath but you usually end up with a blur. With a textured or moving background it can be distracting. With a single color background it's OK. I don't care what it looks like, though, and will always remove them.

    And finally, Xlogo can be used to remove both kinds, if you can figure it out. AlanHK has a guide to its use here:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/273109-Remove-an-opaque-logo-using-Xlogo-in-Avisynth
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you very much for your reply and detailed information.
    It appears to be an opaque hardcoded logo so I will look into the Avisynth plugins.
    Is there a way to use avisynth and encode directly from mpeg2 to mpeg2, via m2v or is it always necessary to first encode to xvid or x264 and then convert it to mpeg2?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by skaleton View Post
    Is there a way to use avisynth and encode directly from mpeg2 to mpeg2, via m2v or is it always necessary to first encode to xvid or x264 and then convert it to mpeg2?

    Yes , avisynth is a frameserver ; ie. you don't need to encode to xvid or to h264 using x264

    You can use an mpeg2 encoder that accepts avs scripts e.g. hcenc , it will output .m2v elementary stream
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    "Forced subtitles" can be forced with the PUO options when authoring. Not even counting players that ignore PUOs, any time a Decrypter does its work, it usually also removes the PUOs as well, thus rendering the subtitles "un-forced" (optional).

    @OP: For best exposure with least user aggravation, leave well enough alone and avoid doing a watermark at all.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you very much, poisondeathray for the information.
    Your and Manono's help are much appreciated!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads