VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 51
Thread
  1. what filters do u recommend i use on this source? its terrible quality but the best you'll find anywhere.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by mmbwdpnz View Post
    ...but the best you'll find anywhere.
    Obviously that's not true since the XviD was made from something.

    As you say, it's in bad shape. It needs deblocking (unless it's too late and the blocks were in the source before the resize), antialiasing and dot crawl removal. Among other things.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mmbwdpnz View Post
    what filters do u recommend i use on this source? its terrible quality but the best you'll find anywhere.
    I find it arguable that this is "terrible". Look I'm not saying it's perfect, but it's certainly watchable. I've seen a LOT worse than this. If your definition of "terrible" is anything that has even minor imperfections, yes, it's "terrible". It has what monono says it has, but geez, it's not THAT bad. Well, it just depends on how picky you are. For some people this is unwatchable garbage and for some like me, it's fine. I've seen videos that truly are terrible and this one isn't even in the same ballpark as those.

    For those who don't wish to download the video, it's anime.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Start with Deblock() and HQDeRing(), Santiag(), FastLineDarken(), and McTemporalDenoise(). You should also try the Xvid decoder's built in deblock and dering filters.

    I see that themaster1 give a better script before I replied.
    Last edited by jagabo; 5th Dec 2012 at 19:11.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    Mediainfo sez a bitrate of 116. 116! Okay, I've seen worse -- but while watching it, just thinking about all the work needed to clean it up made me want to lie down an rest a while. Looks somewhat stable until a camera pan comes along and the screen almost crackles with block noise. The sharpening ain't too bad, but the saturation and contrast look as if they might harm my monitor; I had to stop watching when I saw the sides of the histograms stretch outward.

    Can you say, the usual xvid overcooking but with malnourished bitrate??

    OK, to the business at hand. Now that the bitrate has done its worst, there's not much chance for salvation in that respect without serious collateral damage. I'd start with some ColorYUV to tame the contrast and see what happens after that.

    Variable bitrate audio, too.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 24th Mar 2014 at 12:19.
    Quote Quote  
  6. thermaster1 i love you!
    Quote Quote  
  7. does anyone know where i can find the dll, and avs files in themaster1's script?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    you might love him, but there are lots of people on the planet who can't run his scripts. Two of my systems refused to run anything involving these plugins:

    FFT3dGPU.dll
    SSE3Tools.dll
    RemoveGrainSSE3.dll
    SSE3Tools.dll
    AvsFilterNet.dll (or anything having to do with NLMeans)

    At least I don 't feel alone
    Last edited by sanlyn; 24th Mar 2014 at 12:19.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    Two of my systems refused to run anything involving these plugins:

    FFT3dGPU.dll
    SSE3Tools.dll
    RemoveGrainSSE3.dll
    SSE3Tools.dll
    AvsFilterNet.dll (or anything having to do with NLMeans)
    Try using SSE2 versions of all the SSE3 filters. Your CPUs probably don't have SSE3. FFT3dGUP probably requires a Nvidia graphics card with CUDA. You can substitute the regular FFT3D calls, they'll be slower.
    Last edited by jagabo; 5th Dec 2012 at 20:42.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    I do use the SSE2's.
    I know about CUDA. I know Nvidia. I will never use an Nvidia product for color work.
    Nice job of re-sharpening, even for overly contrasty video. The histograms are really bustin' at the seams now ! ! LOL! But a lot of the fuzzy gunk is gone and the lines are really clean below-zero black, nice work.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 24th Mar 2014 at 12:19.
    Quote Quote  
  11. im still missing al most all of the dlls and .avs files. I cant find half of them! please help
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by mmbwdpnz View Post
    im still missing al most all of the dlls and .avs files. I cant find half of them! please help
    which ones ? they should be easy to find

    search google for "whatever.dll" and add "avisynth" and "doom9" and it will usually be the 1st or 2nd link

    if you still can't find it, list the exact dll you are missing and someone will help you out . Nobody is going to collect them for you.
    Quote Quote  
  13. histogramCMY.avs im missing
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by mmbwdpnz View Post
    histogramCMY.avs im missing
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1570968


    You probably don't need it - it's a monitoring filter. I had a quick look at the avs, he's one of those guys that loads a bunch of dll's that aren't actually called in the script (probably ones that he uses frequently) . Many of those dll's in his script aren't actually used
    Quote Quote  
  15. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    You don't need the histograms or vectorscope --at least, not all of them anyway, but probably none since many people have no interest in levels or color, they just want to denoise and sharpen.

    You won't need QTGMC or AGC (they aren't called, and AGC is a disaster waiting to happen anyway).

    Comment-out the above by adding a "#" character at the start of the lines involved. CHime in with any new error messages and please specify what the error is looking for and couldn't find.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 24th Mar 2014 at 12:20.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post


    Comment-out the above by adding a "#" character at the start of the lines involved. CHime in with any new error messages and please specify what the error is looking for and couldn't find.
    yes maybe that's a better way to get him started

    There are more unused than used. As sanlyn suggests I would comment out all the loadplugin, import lines at the top until an error message pops up. Then you will know what is missing and required. IMO It's no use wasting time searching around for dll's , functions, and avs's that you aren't using.

    The functions/dlls you will need for sure and have to load (either autoload or load manually , or import functions) - and I might have missed some:

    removegrain.dll
    depan.dll
    depanestimate.dll
    mvtools2.dll
    masktools.dll
    fft3dfilter.dll
    fastlinedarken.avs
    awarpsharp.dll
    limitedsharpenfaster.avs

    The functions at the bottom of the script like TMedian2 etc,, (just copy & paste them into your script) . But some of them like EdgeCleaner and StarMask aren't actually used in this script (but it won't hurt to copy them)
    Quote Quote  
  17. thank you! the colors are nasty to me so im gonna use the coloring filters. They over brightened a little.
    Quote Quote  
  18. and can i post a sample of my script when im done wit it. make sure i dont need to add anything or get rid of anything. and that its done correctly.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Colors are fine to my eyes and the histogram imo, maybe slightly over saturated, tweak(sat=0.9) should do the trick but feel free to experiment
    Quote Quote  
  20. what setting should i do for depan and depanestimate.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by mmbwdpnz View Post
    what setting should i do for depan and depanestimate.

    I don't understand your question ? Why are you asking that - is something specifically wrong ? Were you using themaster1's script or something else ? You can use that as a starting point and adjust it to however you like
    Quote Quote  
  22. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    Whew! Master1, only took 2.5 hours to match that script to my old-fashioned setup and disable unnecessary lines.

    Looks good (slow as hell, but what else is new with Avisynth?). Actually, ran somewhat faster than I thought it would and I'm not using CUDA or set up for slaughterfest gaming (PAC-MAN is my limit). Some good ideas to learn from.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 24th Mar 2014 at 12:20.
    Quote Quote  
  23. You gotta thank poisondeathray for the mvtools (complicated part) i have tweaked it a little it work well on many (crappy) sources, see here
    Quote Quote  
  24. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by themaster1 View Post
    You gotta thank poisondeathray for the mvtools (complicated part) i have tweaked it a little it work well on many (crappy) sources, see here
    Yep, I recall making a copy of that thread. I keep going back to it. One of these days I'll have it figured out in detail.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 24th Mar 2014 at 12:20.
    Quote Quote  
  25. i have one problem with the script. there is a green mask over the video.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  26. does it look done correctly as well?
    Quote Quote  
  27. green mask is generally a bad sign, a dll is missing or something
    Quote Quote  
  28. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mmbwdpnz View Post
    i have one problem with the script. there is a green mask over the video.
    The green effect might be your copy of the FastLineDarken script. A fix was posted after the original appeared, so you might have the older version. Use the version of FastLineDarken shown below. Fixed version was posted here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1060077#post1060077 . The fix in the new version is highlighted in red below:

    Code:
    function FastLineDarken( clip c, int "strength", int "luma_cap", int "threshold", int "thinning") {
        str = string(default(strength, 48) /128.)
        lum = string(default(luma_cap, 191))
        thr = string(default(threshold, 4))
        thinning = default(thinning,24)
        thn = string(thinning /16.)
        exin=c.expand().inpand()
        diff = yv12lutxy(c,exin,yexpr="y "+lum+" < y "+lum+" ? x "+thr+" + > x y "\
            +lum+" < y "+lum+" ? - 0 ? 127 +",uexpr="x",vexpr="x",u=2, v=2)
        linemask = yv12lut(diff.inpand(),"x 127 - "+thn+" * 255 +")\
            .yv12convolution("1 1 1","1 1 1",y=3,u=0,v=0)
        thick = yv12lutxy(c, exin, yexpr="y "+lum+" < y "+lum+" ? x "+thr+" + > x y "\
            +lum+" < y "+lum+" ? - 0 ? "+str+" * x +",uexpr="x",vexpr="x",u=2, v=2)
        thin = yv12lutxy(c.expand(),diff,yexpr="x y 127 - "+str+" 1 + * +",u=2, v=2)
        return (thinning == 0) ? thick : maskedmerge(thin,thick,linemask,y=3,u=2,v=2)
    Last edited by sanlyn; 8th Dec 2012 at 21:27.
    Quote Quote  
  29. well the green mask is shown a little bit, then it goes away and turns grey and purple, and then it turns to the original color with purple on parts.
    Last edited by mmbwdpnz; 8th Dec 2012 at 16:32.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads