VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Back in the "good ole days" things were so simple. Around 1989 I bought a good JVC VCR. I had analog cable service. I just simply put the coax cable from my cable service into the RF input of the VCR and ran a coax cable out of the VCR to the input of the TV. Sure, I used component output (Video Audio L/R) from the VCR to the TV for better playback. But the tuner on the VCR just captured the channel I wanted to record while I watched a different show with the tuner on the TV. Both tuners in both units were the standard 6-MHz wide NTSC analog channels. Life was so simple.

Now, all people live in a general state of confusion regarding their TV service--at least I do and I've been a radio technician all my life! Here's the deal. I'm considering buying this new Magnavox DVR model MDR533H/F7:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Magnavox-320GB-HDD-and-DVD-Recorder-with-Digital-Tuner/20710260

Cable companies now seem to insist that you rent their set top box in order for them to increase their profits and to make their service more secure by encrypting signals and having more control over what you are allowed to see via the set top box. To my way of thinking, and I could be wrong about this, this means I need to have the DVR behind the set top box and I will be at the mercy of whatever the set top box is tuned to. So, I can't record on one channel and watch TV on the other. If I want to record a TV show with the DVR, this means I need to have the set top box on and tuned to the show I want to record?

I would much prefer to put the DVR in front of the set top box (it does have a QAM64 tuner/demodulator for cable frequencies) and just select my recordings from there. But, since some cable signals are encrypted, I can't do that? Can somebody help the old man out here. What am I missing? Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM