VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    quebec
    Search Comp PM
    i usually use Chrome , but for online videos i have to use Firefox , way superior ..

    i get all kinds of playback issues with chrome : shuts down , sync , etc ...

    But with firefox it's a really smooth run (even if chrome is still open with multiple tabs)

    I know FF has a great ability with add-ons and plugins ..

    is there any easy tweak possible for chrome for better playback ??
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Tried reinstall flash 11?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    quebec
    Search Comp PM
    firefox has is own flash player ??

    should i try uninstall and reinstall the active x or plugin version ..
    maybe firefox uses one and chrome the other .. i don't realy know
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by smartel View Post
    firefox has is own flash player ??

    should i try uninstall and reinstall the active x or plugin version ..
    maybe firefox uses one and chrome the other .. i don't realy know
    Firefox don't have builtin flash player. So you need to install the plugin.
    Chrome does have builtin flash support.
    Quote Quote  
  5. VH Wanderer Ai Haibara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Somewhere on VideoHelp...
    Search Comp PM
    I've read, somewhere, that Chrome bundles the Flash plugin inside the browser package (as chicken264 indicated - though it's actually the same components you're normally installing, and not anything specially created for Chrome), so it won't depend upon any versions of Flash installed separately. That does mean you're dependent upon Google to update it for you, though. Have you made sure Chrome is up-to-date?

    I've also heard of people replacing the Flash components within Chrome to a more recent version, but as I don't use Chrome, I never really looked into it, and don't know if there's any risk involved in doing it.
    If cameras add ten pounds, why would people want to eat them?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    quebec
    Search Comp PM
    i've uninstalled adobe flash (plugin and activex) with CCleaner and reinstalled it from adobe's website

    My Google Chrome browser is now up to date

    Now the adobe flash activex is missing (uninstalled) from my add/remove list from CCleaner ,
    (i don't remember where i got it from . is it software or browser related , i don't know)

    Firefox still plays smoothly and chrome still has difficulty
    (can't really tell if it's better or worst, maybe a bit better)

    the missing activex doesn't seam to affect playback for better or for worst

    is the activex needed ??
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    quebec
    Search Comp PM
    Guess What ?

    now i get no sound in chrome

    FF ok
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member ricardouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Search Comp PM
    do you get the playback issues with Chromium? Install it + flash player and report back

    http://www.chromium.org/getting-involved/download-chromium
    I love it when a plan comes together!
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    check this page from Google support helps

    http://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=108086

    I also do not use chrome for my regular use. I use it in office to debug my cgi
    Quote Quote  
  10. ActiveX is ONLY for Internet Explorer. If you don't us IE, then don't even bother installing it. If you do, us IE (not Firefox or Chrome) to get it from the Adobe website.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads