VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi all, quick background, I am volunteer fireman, I have very little experience/knowledge of video, but I am a computer guy.

Situation, we have a system in our fire house that has output that would be extremely useful to dispatch down at the sheriff's office. So I thought I'd buy a few components and stream it over the web. I do not have access to the server this system is on, but there is another PC in the office that has internet.

This is what I thought I could do. Buy a Y splitter to put on the server's VGA output, one side going to existing monitor, other side going to the office PC. Buy a scan converter to switch from VGA to svideo. Run s-video into capture card on office PC. Use VLC media player to broadcast a live stream. Easy right.

I did all this but when I display the signal from the scan converter on the office PC all I get are test bars. If I take that cable off of the scan converter and hook it up to the office PC's monitor I see exactly what I see on the server's monitor, so the splitter and cable going to the scan converter are working, but why I am seeing only test bars coming from the the scan converter?

The scan converter is:KWORLD PCTV1600
    The capture card is: Hauppauge WinTV 881

If anyone has any advice on where I went wrong I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.
    Josh
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    There is a switch on the KWorld PCTV1600 for the outgoing video connection. It is on the same side of the case as the S-Video port. The switch should set to "CVBS" to use the S-Video or RCA composite video port for output. Have you tried that?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Thanks for the response.