VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 38
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Anybody know of a program which can record HLS streams?

    (If you don't know what HLS means then please make sure your suggestion is actually relevant)
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Can you play it with VLC? THen can you use its recording function(view->advanced controls and use the record button).
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    No, alas not.

    HLS is http live streaming, something Apple thought up to stream video via port 80 (the normal browser port), and essentially you get video in 10 second chunks.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... HLS streams?
    Have you a link for such a stream?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... HLS streams?
    Have you a link for such a stream?
    You'd better rephrase that question to ensure that it is "relevant".
    Quote Quote  
  6. Stream recording expert Bahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tehran, Iran
    Search Comp PM
    ffmpeg is one of options!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... HLS streams?
    Have you a link for such a stream?
    Sure: http://hls.twit.tv:1935/flosoft/smil:twitStream.smil/playlist.m3u8

    This link btw is quite legal (if that is what worried the next poster ) - all their mateiral is Creative Commons and free to be shared with the world.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Bahman View Post
    ffmpeg is one of options!
    How? It doesn't work for me?

    Could you supply some commandline arguments?
    Quote Quote  
  9. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    It plays in VLC 2.0.3 and I can record it...
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    And command line...
    For a 30 second clip.

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i http://hls.twit.tv:1935/flosoft/smil:twitStream.smil/playlist.m3u8 -t 30 -c copy output1.mkv
    Code:
    vlc http://hls.twit.tv:1935/flosoft/smil:twitStream.smil/playlist.m3u8 --stop-time=30 --sout="#std{access=file,mux=mkv,dst='output2.mkv'}" vlc://quit
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    It plays in VLC 2.0.3
    Strange, it doesn't in 2.0.0 - who would have thought the last digit should make a difference.
    In 2.0.3 it does play a little, but then the image freezes though the audio continues.

    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    and I can record it...
    I might ask you about that if I can't figure out how to use bat999's examples
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    And command line...
    For a 30 second clip.

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i http://hls.twit.tv:1935/flosoft/smil:twitStream.smil/playlist.m3u8 -t 30 -c copy output1.mkv
    Which version of ffmpeg is that? I'm getting a screen full of error messages and no output file.
    Quote Quote  
  13. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    VLC changelog,
    Changes between 2.0.1 and 2.0.2:
    * Improvements and fixes in HLS support
    The image freezes here too after ~30 seconds...so I guess it doesn't work perfect yet. Try ffmpeg instead.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    I tired this version https://www.videohelp.com/tools/ffmpeg

    And whilst it does output 30 seconds or so, it freezes ever couple of seconds then unfreezes a bit then freezes again etc.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    Which version of ffmpeg is that? I'm getting a screen full of error messages and no output file.
    Hi
    Maybe different commands needed for Windows FFmpeg.

    90 second sample is attached.

    Using this version with Linux.
    @ubuntu:~$ ffmpeg
    ffmpeg version git-2012-07-26-d5d5e3d Copyright (c) 2000-2012 the FFmpeg developers
    built on Jul 26 2012 14:54:57 with gcc 4.5.2 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.5.2-8ubuntu4)
    configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-libaacplus --enable-libfaac --enable-libfdk-aac --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-librtmp --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libvo-aacenc --enable-libvo-amrwbenc --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-nonfree --enable-version3 --enable-x11grab
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by bat999; 8th Aug 2012 at 18:42.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Well, my PC version seems to be missing: -enable-libaacplus --enable-libfaac --enable-libfdk-aac --enable-libtheora --enable-nonfree --enable-x11grab
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Ok bat, I found the 2012-07-26 64 bit version for Windows 7.

    And your code example produces a 30 second mkv which looks fine.

    Though the console is still full of spam output like

    Code:
    [mpegts @ 000000000055f3a0] Invalid timestamps stream=1, pts=1844280000, dts=1844282970, size=1533
    Anyway to disable that?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... Anyway to disable that?
    Hi
    Mine shows all that guff about timestamps too.
    I don't know whether it's a problem, or not.

    Do the FFmpeg downloaded clips play OK for you?
    Is the audio in sync?
    (My weak pc struggles to play 1280x720)
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... Anyway to disable that?
    Hi
    Mine shows all that guff about timestamps too.
    I don't know whether it's a problem, or not.
    Just seems to be a bit wasteful on resources to do that.

    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Do the FFmpeg downloaded clips play OK for you?
    Is the audio in sync?
    (My weak pc struggles to play 1280x720)
    Seems to be in sync from what i've tested so far.

    But I can't handle the resulting mkv in in mkvmerge it gives me the error:

    " track 2: Malformed codec id 'A_AAC'."

    I tried to see if i could use the ffmpeg to extract the sound as a wav but the soundfile skips - very odd.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... Anyway to disable that?
    Hi
    Mine shows all that guff about timestamps too.
    I don't know whether it's a problem, or not.
    Just seems to be a bit wasteful on resources to do that.

    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Do the FFmpeg downloaded clips play OK for you?
    Is the audio in sync?
    (My weak pc struggles to play 1280x720)
    Seems to be in sync from what i've tested so far.

    But I can't edit the resulting mkv in in mkvmerge it gives me the error:

    " track 2: Malformed codec id 'A_AAC'."

    I tried to see if i could use the ffmpeg to extract the sound as a wav but the soundfile skips - very odd.
    Last edited by branch; 8th Aug 2012 at 21:11.
    Quote Quote  
  21. You can run it through gdsmux (comes with haali splitter package), and it will re-wrap the mkv, audio id will be fixed (it will be uncompressed audio however - PCM wav). Then mkvmerge or other programs can process it correctly

    Edit: actually better is to demux it with eac3to, and reimport the aac with mkvmerge (this way you keep original audio). It will attempt to fix the bunch of errors and gaps. For some reason mkvmerge doesn't like the original audio id
    Last edited by poisondeathray; 8th Aug 2012 at 21:25.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post

    But I can't edit the resulting mkv in in mkvmerge it gives me the error:

    " track 2: Malformed codec id 'A_AAC'."
    Hi
    The soundtrack needs fixing.
    FFmpeg can do it, like this:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i output90.mkv -c copy -absf aac_adtstoasc new_output90.mkv
    Then it will be accepted by mkvmerge.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Hi
    The soundtrack needs fixing.
    FFmpeg can do it, like this:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i output90.mkv -c copy -absf aac_adtstoasc new_output90.mkv
    Then it will be accepted by mkvmerge.
    Wow, that's great bat, I have no idea what those arguments mean, but they did the trick - and all even seem to be in sync

    Thanks a lot!
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Hehe, I tried looking -absf up in the ffmpeg manual and it says "Deprecated, see -bsf" - which seems to be missing
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    "Deprecated, see -bsf" ...
    Hi
    The up-to-date (not deprecated) command is:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i output90.mkv -c copy -bsf:a aac_adtstoasc new_new_output90.mkv
    aac_adtstoasc is mentioned here ---> http://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html#aac_005fadtstoasc
    But there's no explanation, lol
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post

    The up-to-date (not deprecated) command is:-
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i output90.mkv -c copy -bsf:a aac_adtstoasc new_new_output90.mkv
    aac_adtstoasc is mentioned here ---> http://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg.html#aac_005fadtstoasc
    But there's no explanation, lol
    I guess it converts adts to asc - how did you find out?


    Btw, if I remove the time argument it just keeps grabbing which is fine.

    But when i press ctrl -c it asks me if I'm sure I want to stop. You don't happen to know a command that will make it not ask, but just stop?
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member bat999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... I guess it converts adts to asc - how did you find out?
    We've had problems with audio in downloaded flv files, sometimes the bsf cures it.

    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... Btw, if I remove the time argument it just keeps grabbing which is fine.
    The "-t 30" option was there just to grab a sample. It's OK to remove it.

    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... You don't happen to know a command that will make it not ask, but just stop?
    Close the window, X in top corner.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    We've had problems with audio in downloaded flv files, sometimes the bsf cures it.
    Handy.
    Now i just need something to cut it visually. VideoRedoDo doesn't work, it seems to drop sound frames, making huge drop outs in the sound. Oh well.


    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    The "-t 30" option was there just to grab a sample. It's OK to remove it.
    Yeah, I tried just having it running to today and it grabbed 4 hours and 21 minutes and then strangely just stopped.


    Originally Posted by bat999 View Post
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    ... You don't happen to know a command that will make it not ask, but just stop?
    Close the window, X in top corner.
    Hehe.

    Well, now i guess I need another app to monitor if this one stops and then restart it

    Probably outside the scope of this forum though
    Last edited by branch; 9th Aug 2012 at 19:06.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    europe
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah screen capture is an unnecessary generation loss, plus you can't use the machine for something else meanwhile.
    ffmpeg crashes or skips a lot, but perhaps these bugs will be ironed out over time.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by branch View Post
    Yeah screen capture is an unnecessary generation loss, plus you can't use the machine for something else meanwhile.
    ffmpeg crashes or skips a lot, but perhaps these bugs will be ironed out over time.
    I get you - I try to steer clear of lossy options as well, but sometimes the trade-off for time and simplicity wins my compromise.

    Have you tried anything that might work with Wireshark?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads