VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Hi guys. Anyway to fix this? I am running this game on a windows 7 pc 64 bit. These pjxels don't just appear on the main title screen. It is all the way through the game.
    Would be great if you's can help.
    Thanks.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	KAO.png
Views:	1258
Size:	256.9 KB
ID:	13214  

    Quote Quote  
  2. That can be an indication that the GPU is failing. Make sure its heat sync isn't clogged with dust and its fan hasn't stopped working.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Looks like you're running an emulator, N64? Try a better video pluggin and make sure your video drivers are up to date.
    Have a good one,

    neomaine

    NEW! VideoHelp.com F@H team 166011!
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=166011

    Folding@Home FAQ and download: http://folding.stanford.edu/
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    @ jagabo. But it's only happening with this game. @ neomaine. It's a pc game.
    Quote Quote  
  5. It could just be an incompatibility between the game and modern DirectX. Try running in different windows compatibility modes. Or a different computer.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, I have tried it in different modes. Idk what the problem is.
    Quote Quote  
  7. That game is from the Win98 era. It's not surprising it doesn't work properly on modern Windows. Many games from those days have problems now. Try running on a Win98 VM.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    Actually a little after the 98 era.

    From what I found it was released in 2000 on the PC and Dreamcast.

    But still the same idea, it's pretty old and I have had newer games not work at all on W7 64bit.

    The fact that it starts up and works but just has a graphics issue, it must be some graphics card, driver, software issue.
    I have had a couple/few games over the last many years look like that but I never found a fix.
    Some things just fall to the side and never get a fix or update because of the lack of interest.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by Noahtuck View Post
    Actually a little after the 98 era.

    From what I found it was released in 2000 on the PC and Dreamcast.
    When most Windows computers were running Win98 and most Windows games were designed for Win98.

    http://www.amazon.com/Kao-Kangaroo-Pc/dp/B000067O1D/
    Last edited by jagabo; 26th Jul 2012 at 20:39.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    Either way, it is something with his PC and setup as I just installed the game and it looks fine.

    Besides the fact you can not change the resolution and it is a low res game.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	KAO2.jpg
Views:	732
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	13229Click image for larger version

Name:	KAO.jpg
Views:	769
Size:	143.0 KB
ID:	13230Click image for larger version

Name:	KAO3.jpg
Views:	727
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	13231
    Last edited by Noahtuck; 26th Jul 2012 at 20:49.
    Quote Quote  
  11. I installed the game on my Win7, 64 bit, i5 2500K system (Intel HD 3000 graphics). It had the same graphics problem as the OP.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, the OP has not stated his complete specs.

    Onboard, PCI-E ?

    And I am running W7 64bit and I am sure this game was designed way back when to run on way less powerful systems than any of us are running now.
    Quote Quote  
  13. I tried the game on another computer: Win7, 64 bit, Q6600, Nvidia GTX 460. It worked fine there.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Hi all, I was searching for a solution to this same problem and this is the only forum talking about it. Sorry if I'm bumping such an old thread, but I've just found the solution and I've thought it would be best to write it for future reference...
    Here is how I did it:

    Go to the game folder and edit the kao.ini file using Windows notepad.
    Change the RDevice = 0
    and EnableSoft = 0
    values to 1 instead of 0.
    That's it! The game won't display graphical glitches anymore!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads