VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 82
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi

    I have been working on a simple freeware Blu-ray and avchd authoring application

    here is a link to a small 4 min Blu-ray with top menu and chapter menu that I created
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/July11.part1.rar and http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/July11.part2.rar

    Edit - delete attachments Oct 25, 2012

    just download the two .rar files and open with 7-zip or winrar and extract to the folder of your choice

    I would appreciate it if you could test this file on your Blu-ray player, PowerDVD, TMT, or MP-HC

    Here are some links to png chapter menu samples:
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/192x108.png
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/224x126.png
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/256x144.png
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/288x162.png
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/320x180.png
    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/352x198.png

    TIA
    Last edited by wiseant; 25th Oct 2012 at 23:02. Reason: delete attachments
    Quote Quote  
  2. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    vlc plays the movie then menus but can't select anything in menus. mpc-hc only plays the movie part.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    thanks aedipuss
    In order to use the chapter navigation you would need PowerDVD or Arcsoft TMT
    Quote Quote  
  4. Testet with TMT 5.0.1.114

    Movie plays OK (Don't return to menu though when movie ends ?)
    Scene menu works OK - Starts the movie at the choosen scene and play the rest of the movie
    Quote Quote  
  5. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    burned to dvd and it plays as avchd disc on lg bd670. menus work.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    videobruger - thanks for testing
    re "(Don't return to menu though when movie ends ?)"

    I'll have to look into this - after the movie ends it should return to the top menu


    aedipuss - thanks for testing on your blu-ray player


    I hope to add 3x3 and 2x2 menus as well
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    How long do you envision before you have the app ready to for us to play with?
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Hi dragonkeeper

    I hope to have a basic working version in 10 days or so.

    I will be posting some more samples with different chapter menus -> 2x2 and 3x3 grids - also I have a slightly modified 4x3 chapter menu
    One thing I need to familiarize myself with is the best way to handle subtitles . . . any suggestions are welcome
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post
    Hi dragonkeeper

    I hope to have a basic working version in 10 days or so.

    I will be posting some more samples with different chapter menus -> 2x2 and 3x3 grids - also I have a slightly modified 4x3 chapter menu
    One thing I need to familiarize myself with is the best way to handle subtitles . . . any suggestions are welcome
    I not done any programming centering around video applications; but wouldn't mind starting to learn to do so. What language/framework or you using to write your app?
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    Sorry that I didn't get back to you sooner . . .

    I am using a bunch of free tools - avisynth, tsmuxer, x264, and VirtualDub
    All I am doing with my application is creating avisynth scripts, writing some batch and text files primarily - for this I am using QBasic 4.5/7.1 and will have a simple text-based UI - if/when I make a GUI I will use VisualBasic6
    It depends what you want to do - I think that most video "programming" can be done using avisynth

    Older programmers probably started with Basic or C, then C+, VisualBasic, Visual C+
    Microsoft has some free programming tools - I consider most of Net Framework 3,3.5, 4 etc to be bloatware.
    Some people like Delphi, others use Java, Perl scripts, etc

    I guess it depends on what programming you have done in the past.
    I would recommend learning about using GScript with Avisynth, as well as the Avisynth built-in functions
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Keeping it simple, nice i like simple. Sounds like your doing something I've been desiring to do just have been to lazy to get started. I was going to create a scripts as you are then wrap everything in an HTA for those who needed a gui.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper

    Thanks for the tip re HTA - I'm looking into this right now - looks like I could use this
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yah I use HTA a lot now between VbScript, javascript, perl and WSH. I can pretty much do anything that an exe does. There have been a few times i've had to resort to using autoit only because it made the task at hand simpler.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    working on an hta - easy to write my avs files and my batch files - but having a problem with using shell to run the bat files

    seems to be a directory problem - any suggestions?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post
    dragonkeeper:

    working on an hta - easy to write my avs files and my batch files - but having a problem with using shell to run the bat files

    seems to be a directory problem - any suggestions?
    Directory problems are generally easy to fix, using fully qualified paths fixes most problems. In most scripting languages be sure to escape back slashes for instance "c:\myApp\runMyBat.bat" becomes "c:\\myApp\\runMyBat.bat". In some cases you have to use more than the normal number of back slashes (like when passing path as a variable you might need to use "c:\\\\myApp\\\\runMyBat.bat". Throug an alert/msg box or echo\print line in it to see if the path is being displayed properly.

    Also passing everything to your activeX control as a variable can solve a lot of issues such as;
    Code:
     
    cmdHide = window.location.pathname.replace(/%20/g, ' ').replace(/(.*[\/\\])([^\/\\]+\.hta$)/, '$1'); 
    cmdHide = cmdHide.replace(/\\/g, '\\\\')+"Exe\\\\chp.exe" ;
    var wsh=new ActiveXObject("WScript.Shell"); 
    command='"'+cmdHide+'" cmd.exe /c taskkill /im mpc-hc.exe /f & sleep 2 & "C:\\Program Files\\MPC HomeCinema\\mpc-hc.exe" "'+vid+'"  /fullscreen /play /close';    
    wsh.run(command);
    wsh='';
    Line 1:
    Is used to get the the full path to file being ran, i then remove the url encoding of spaces, and finally strip the file name from the path. Resulting the location of the main folder.

    Line 2:
    I then format the path correctly, then add folder(s) and file name of I wish to run.

    Line 3:
    Create an instance of the scripting host

    line 4:
    build the command line i wish to run and assign it to a variable

    Line 5:
    pass the variable to the activeX control to be run.

    This is kinda of convoluted but it works,
    Could possible be of more help if i knew what you were trying to accomplish.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    Thanks again for your time. I think I figured it out. I have narrowed things down to three different ways:

    1. Shell.run

    Sub chaptermenu264
    Set Shell = CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
    Shell.run("C:\QBasic\pp.bat")
    End Sub

    the hta was run from C:\QBasic

    and it works in a different directory:
    Shell.run("C:\x264\blu_ray1.bat")

    or

    Shell.run("C:\QBasic\VirtualDub 70709.avs") for an avs file


    2. Shell.Exec
    Sub VDubPreview
    Dim Shell,Exec ' don't know if this is needed
    Set Shell = createobject("wscript.shell")
    Set Exec = Shell.Exec("C:\QBasic\VirtualDub 70709.avs")
    End Sub

    doesn't seem to work with different directory
    doesn't work with batch file


    3. Shell.run "cmd . .

    Sub chaptermenu264
    Dim Shell ' don't know if this is needed
    Set Shell = CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
    Shell.run "cmd /K CD C:\QBasic"
    Shell.run "cmd /K C:\QBasic\VirtualDub 70709.avs"
    Set Shell = Nothing
    End Sub

    and from different directory:

    Sub chaptermenu264
    Dim Shell
    Set Shell = CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
    Shell.run "cmd /K C:\x264\blu_rayNEW.bat"
    Set Shell = Nothing
    End Sub

    These all work fine on XP - I am going to check re Vista32 and Vista64 - I can't check it on Windows7 - could you?

    Of these methods is there one that is preferable?

    TIA
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post

    3. Shell.run "cmd . .

    Sub chaptermenu264
    Dim Shell ' don't know if this is needed
    Set Shell = CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
    Shell.run "cmd /K CD C:\QBasic"
    Shell.run "cmd /K C:\QBasic\VirtualDub 70709.avs"
    Set Shell = Nothing
    End Sub

    and from different directory:

    Sub chaptermenu264
    Dim Shell
    Set Shell = CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
    Shell.run "cmd /K C:\x264\blu_rayNEW.bat"
    Set Shell = Nothing
    End Sub

    These all work fine on XP - I am going to check re Vista32 and Vista64 - I can't check it on Windows7 - could you?

    Of these methods is there one that is preferable?

    TIA
    I would go with option 3. Typically you can run any file from a command line and also pass parameters to the file if needed. I've used the shell.run command in all three OS (XP, vist, and Win 7) and it works fine (bat files are another thing esp on multi-core systems "sometimes its useful to set the MSHTA.exe affinity to 1 on a multi-core system" ). I have a windows 7 box set up and I'd be more than happy to test it out if you like, shoot me some files and i will try it out.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper :

    I am in the process of sending you an almost complete hta - but I am having a braincramp:

    when I use this to open a file:

    <p align="left"><font face="serif" size="2"> Please select the Video clip.</font>
    </br>
    <input name="vclip" type="file" size="62"/>

    how can I set a [string] variable = name of the file opened?

    for example if the file is D:\Movies\elephantsdream.mp4 how can I make vclip="D:\Movies\elephantsdream.mp4"

    TIA
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post
    dragonkeeper :

    I am in the process of sending you an almost complete hta - but I am having a braincramp:

    when I use this to open a file:

    <p align="left"><font face="serif" size="2"> Please select the Video clip.</font>
    </br>
    <input name="vclip" type="file" size="62"/>

    how can I set a [string] variable = name of the file opened?

    for example if the file is D:\Movies\elephantsdream.mp4 how can I make vclip="D:\Movies\elephantsdream.mp4"

    TIA
    Use the getElementByName property. Personally i prefer to use the id property over the name property.

    Code:
       <input name="vclip" type="file" size="62"/>
       var vclip=document.getElementByName("vclip").innerHTML
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    Thanks again - before I read your reply, I used this routine:

    sub openit
    Set ObjFSO = CreateObject("UserAccounts.CommonDialog")
    ObjFSO.Filter = "All Files*.*"
    ObjFSO.InitialDir = "c:\"
    InitFSO = ObjFSO.ShowOpen
    MsgBox "You selected " & ObjFSO.FileName
    vclip=ObjFSO.FileName
    end sub

    seems to work to assign the filename to variable vclip and the use of the MsgBox to "confirm" complete filename - but I am trying to get this string variable vclip to appear in a textbox - and I am running into problems trying to do this within the html

    anyway - I'll be back at it tomorrow - hope to send you an hta then
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    I uploaded a couple of hta's ->

    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/Edit2.hta - file deleted July24/12

    http://files.videohelp.com/u/139027/writeavs.hta - - file deleted July24/12

    Edit2.hta - which has three empty subroutines: vdubpreview, encode264, writeavs

    writeavs.hta - need to add in some variables: vclip, chapters, duration, vheight, vwidth which I will get from Edit2.hta

    I seem to have a problem with mytime= left(time,1)+ mid(time,3,2)+mid(time,6,2) +".avs"
    I don't think it is formatted properly . . I just want to convert the system time to variable mytime
    e.g. 12:59:23 PM to 125923.avs
    e.g. 6:27.03 to 62703.avs

    Your assistance is appreciated with this. Thanks
    Last edited by wiseant; 24th Jul 2012 at 23:39. Reason: update
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post
    I seem to have a problem with mytime= left(time,1)+ mid(time,3,2)+mid(time,6,2) +".avs"
    I don't think it is formatted properly . . I just want to convert the system time to variable mytime
    e.g. 12:59:23 PM to 125923.avs
    e.g. 6:27.03 to 62703.avs

    Your assistance is appreciated with this. Thanks
    First off to answer your question about the myTime variable i took a different approach that seems to work well;

    Code:
       myTime = left(replace(replace(time, ":","")," ","" ),len(replace(replace(time, ":","")," ","" ))-2 )+".avs"
    I've changed the line in the "writeavs.hta" and tested it on XP and Win7


    "UserAccounts.CommonDialog" does not work on Win7, thus it throws an error when loading the subroutine.

    Why create a sub routine to open the video file, the functionality to open a file exist in the browser aka input type "file". It is generally used for file uploads but you can also use it to get the path to a file;
    example.
    Code:
    <input id="myVideoFile"  type="file" />
    I've changed your "Edit2.hta" to use the input tag with the file attribute, which corrected the file open dialog in windows 7.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by dragonkeeper; 24th Jul 2012 at 00:29.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    Thanks again. That code for mytime looks pretty funky.

    I did finish another hta that processes all of the variables - with commands to write an avs file for previewing, a slightly different avs for encoding, as well as the commands for Preview in VirtualDub and Encode with x264

    I'll incorporate your changes and upload tomorrow - at least one will be able to open a video clip, set number of chapters, thumbnail size, motion menu duration, preview and encode the motion menu
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post
    dragonkeeper:

    Thanks again. That code for mytime looks pretty funky.
    It's pretty simple really; start with the most inner grouping i first remove the colon, the next grouping removes the white space, the outer grouping then takes the length of the resulting string and removes the last two characters.

    Regex would have been much cleaner and simpler, but vbscript is a little weak when it come to regex that's why i prefer javascript for string manipulation.
    Last edited by dragonkeeper; 24th Jul 2012 at 07:14.
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    I got my new hta done, except for one problem

    How do I use this:

    <input type="file" value="Load Video" id="myVideoFile" size="60" onChange="alert(document.getElementById('myVideoFi le').value)">

    to assign this value to my variable vclip -[the name and location of the video clip]

    I had been using this sub: -> vclip=ObjFSO.FileName

    sub openit
    Set ObjFSO = CreateObject("UserAccounts.CommonDialog")
    ObjFSO.Filter = "All Files*.*"
    ' ObjFSO.InitialDir = "c:\"
    InitFSO = ObjFSO.ShowOpen
    MsgBox "You selected " & ObjFSO.FileName
    vclip=ObjFSO.FileName
    Set Shell = CreateObject ("WScript.shell")
    Shell.CurrentDirectory = "C:\MYHTA"
    end sub

    TIA
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by wiseant View Post
    dragonkeeper:


    How do I use this:

    <input type="file" value="Load Video" id="myVideoFile" size="60" onChange="alert(document.getElementById('myVideoFi le').value)">

    to assign this value to my variable vclip -[the name and location of the video clip]
    Pretty much the same way as with VBscript ; but instead of building a subroutine and calling it you will build a function and call it.

    Code:
        <script language="JavaScript">
            function assignVclip(){
                vClip=document.getElementById('myVideoFile').value;
                vClip=vClip.replace(/\\/g, '\\\\');
            }
        </script>
    
    call the script with your onchange event like
    Code:
    <input type="file" value="Load Video" id="myVideoFile" size="60"  onChange="assignVclip()">
    But if you insist on displaying an alert box with the path information, you can call mutiple functions with a single event by separating them with semi-colons.

    Code:
    <input type="file" value="Load Video" id="myVideoFile" size="60"  onChange="alert(document.getElementById('myVideoFile').value); assignVclip()">
    Last edited by dragonkeeper; 24th Jul 2012 at 19:31. Reason: forgot to escape backslashs
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper:

    I tried to implement your javascript function but I couldn't get it working

    It seemed to disable the vbscript subs that followed
    I have read that using javascript and vbscript in an hta can cause problems
    One supposed solution is to use onclick="VBScript:radiobuttons"

    However, I found that I could just use a vb sub:

    sub assignVclip
    Vclip=document.getElementById("myVideoFile").value
    end sub

    with

    <input type="file" value="Load Video" id="myVideoFile" size="60" onChange="assignVclip()">

    I am attaching Motion1.zip - and now I am removing it - I spotted a problem

    Will attach new file July 25/12
    Last edited by wiseant; 24th Jul 2012 at 23:51. Reason: update
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member dragonkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    getting an invalid attachment when i try to download?

    oops never mind
    Murphy's law taught me everything I know.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper

    sorry - I deleted it

    here it is
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    dragonkeeper

    That Motion1.hta had a problem with a misplaced variable

    This hta should work as long as VirtualDub.exe, and x264.exe are in the same folder as the hta
    It also requires avisynth, gscript plugin for avisynth, and ffms2.dll [for ffvideosource]

    Two avs files are created - one for Preview and the other for Encoding.

    A text file is also created that gives the chapter times for use in TSMuxer

    Should be ok as long as number of chapter is between 2 and 12

    I haven't done any error-checking . . .
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads