VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 30
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    whenever I choose ffdshow video codec to compress the video on virtualdub, it always shows an error "unable to initialize the output codec. check that the video codec is compatible with the output video frame size and that the settings are correct". I'm really new to this program so I don't know how to deal with it.......can anyone tell me what to do??

    thanks..
    Quote Quote  
  2. probably codec selected to compress is only for decoding - with newer builds of the ffdshow, only limited number of encoders is available - then anything except HUFFYUV, FFV1, MJPEG and DV is only to decode - check page "Encoder" on your FFDSHOW VfW.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    well the list of encoders that show up are HUFFYUV, FFV1, MJPEG, DV and uncompressed....what do you think I should do???
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    ...what do you think I should do???
    Telling us what kind of video file you want after you edit in VirtualDub would be a good start.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by pandy View Post
    probably codec selected to compress is only for decoding - with newer builds of the ffdshow, only limited number of encoders is available - then anything except HUFFYUV, FFV1, MJPEG and DV is only to decode - check page "Encoder" on your FFDSHOW VfW.

    HUFFYUV, FFV1 are lossless (except cases when colorspace is converted but it can be prevented),
    MJPEG and DV are lossy and if color space is different than YCbCr (4:2:0) color space conversion is required.
    It is not clear Why MJPEG not support 4:4:4 sampling scheme.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I cropped and resized the video, and was planning on saving it as .avi. But when it is already saving, I noticed that the file size was around 7GB...so I wanted to compress it. And it is also a h264
    Quote Quote  
  7. oh... then You need to use vfw h.264 codec not ffdshow - seems that x264vfw should solve Your problems.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    I cropped and resized the video, and was planning on saving it as .avi. But when it is already saving, I noticed that the file size was around 7GB...so I wanted to compress it. And it is also a h264
    Pay attention on this:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	bejGu.png
Views:	8402
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	12454


    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    still same error appears
    Quote Quote  
  10. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    still same error appears

    Post your resize resolution please.




    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    its the same setting but still has an error
    Quote Quote  
  12. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    On video tab, color depth, select this:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	haw8m.png
Views:	9662
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	12456



    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I resized it from 535x299 to 642x359
    Quote Quote  
  14. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    I resized it from 535x299 to 642x359
    Ahhhh, X264 will work only multiply 2. Try 640x360 (16:9 AR)



    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I tried what you said, now its showing cannot start video compression: an unknown error occured (maybe corrupt data)
    Quote Quote  
  16. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    I tried what you said, now its showing cannot start video compression: an unknown error occured (maybe corrupt data)
    On video tab, color depth, return to AUTOSELECT - SAME AS DECOMPRESSION FORMAT.

    But resize to 640x360.





    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    "cannot start video compression: an unknown error occured (maybe corrupt data)" still appears
    Quote Quote  
  18. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    "cannot start video compression: an unknown error occured (maybe corrupt data)" still appears
    Whats codec use?? FFDSHOW or X264?



    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    I'm already using x264
    Quote Quote  
  20. probably x264vfw

    ok

    now i'm confused - codec is h.264, x264 is a encoder with h.264 codec implementation

    If You insist to use VirtualDub you must accept limitations of the environment used by Windows and VirtualDub.

    Why You not using simple Avisynth script and real x264 (not x264 with vfw interface)?
    Last edited by pandy; 16th May 2012 at 06:57. Reason: life changed.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    If you resize to 640x360, select x264 and get error. Try this:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	JyzKV.png
Views:	5177
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	12461


    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    works perfectly now...THANK YOU VERY MUCH cauptain!!!!!! )))
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    one more question though, the original file size of the video was 118mb and after I cropped, resized and compressed it, it was around 600mb. why was it bigger???
    Quote Quote  
  24. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    one more question though, the original file size of the video was 118mb and after I cropped, resized and compressed it, it was around 600mb. why was it bigger???
    Simple. On AVERAGE BITRATE is select 4096 (medium bitrate) if you use small bitrate its will create a small file.

    Whats minutes is your video?



    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    its about 21 minutes

    should I use small bitrate??
    Quote Quote  
  26. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    its about 21 minutes

    should I use small bitrate??
    To get SAME original size, use 655 btr to video + 128 btr on Mp3 encode to audio. Its will 118MB file.

    Remember: more Bitrate = more quality = more size video.



    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    on x264 configuration??
    Quote Quote  
  28. Lone soldier Cauptain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by vinz508 View Post
    on x264 configuration??
    Yes, post 22.


    Claudio
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Philippines
    Search Comp PM
    ok, thanks again
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads