Your HcGUI settings looked ok except the quantizer value of 5 is pretty high (low quality). I used 3 and I think you could go down to 2 without the bitrates getting too high for DVD.
Since you didn't select any compression codecs in VirtualDub you created an uncompressed AVI. That should be fine for feeding an MPEG 2 encoder.
I don't like dealing with MP4 sources because there seems to be a lot of confusion surrounding the spec. Many tools don't seem to handle MP4 properly. I originally tried to use a recent version of FFmpegSource() instead of DirectShowSource() but it wasn't working. I found an older version of FFmpegSource that works well with your camera's MP4 files. If you extract the attached archive and put the four files in your AviSynth plugins folder you can use FFmpegSource() to open the video. This is much more reliable than using DirectShowSource(). Replace the DirectShowSource() line with:
ffMpegSource2("1z.MP4", atrack=1, fpsnum=30000, fpsden=1001)
(The first time you open the AVS script the FFMpegSource will build an index file. So don't be surprised if there's a delay after opening the script.) That worked well in VirtualDub and HcGUI. The audio appear to be in perfect sync with the video. Note that previewing the video in VirtualDub probably won't give perfect results because the AviSynth filter chain is too complex to perform in real time. But a saved AVI file should be fine.
I would also change the BilinearResize(720,576) to LanczosResize(720,576) to get a slightly sharper picture (since your source isn't so sharp).
+ Reply to Thread
Results 61 to 90 of 237
-
-
Thank you. I converted that concert video fully by now, that I sent you via Wetransfer. I converted it with HcGUI. The image acceptable. So what's the next step? I also have Ulead Movie Factory, I have 7.0. I checked it, and it has these options:
No Fields
Lower field first
Upper field first
I guess this refers to the interlacing. So if I want to keep the video interlaced, as you recommended, I have to select Lower or Upper. I guess I have to select the upper field first, as that was also selected in HcGUI. Am I right?
Also there is the option:
Do not convert compliant MPEG2
I guess this refers to converting the video or not, that you mentioned. You said it shouldn't be converted, so I guess this box should be selected, right?
Here is the screen capture of this, too:
http://youtu.be/4jaEq0PJGRI
And finally, the audio? Where can I add that. I can add the video to the DVD maker, but where can I select the Audio channel for the video? I cannot see that option. Where is that?Last edited by Bencuri; 2nd May 2012 at 11:34.
-
An easy way to get the audio is to open the AVS script in VirtualDub then use File -> Save WAV. That will produce a WAV file of your audio. You can then combine the M2V video and WAV audio. I use version 4 of MovieFactory. It doesn't allow you to add separate audio tracks. So I mux the audio with the video with TMPGEnc Plus first. I don't know if newer versions allow you to add separate audio files. Otherwise your MovieFactory settings look right. Don't convert, interlaced, upper field first.
-
I hope this will go fine, now.
1 thing is not clear for me, yet:
1. BilinearResize(720,576) to LanczosResize(720,576) - Does it need to be set in Virtual Dub only, or in HcGUI it is also recommended? If yes, where is this option in HcGUI? I couldn't find it. -
You set it in the AVS script, before encoding.
Oh, I forgot, TMPGEnc won't mux uncompressed WAV, you have to convert it to AC3. I use Audacity for that. You can use Imago Mpeg Muxer (free):
https://www.videohelp.com/tools/ImagoMPEG-Muxer -
-
Just for future reference, check out what happens when motion interpolation doesn't work well. View double.avi from this post:
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/339017-Motion-Interpolation-%28VidFIRE%29-Software?...=1#post2107214
-
After I do the multiplexing, there will be small jumps occasinonally in the video. The original m2v is good, but the TMPMPENC results are not good. I get better results if I just do the multiplexing in Windows Movie Maker. I get a progressive file in the end, but without those small jumps. Though that is also not as good as the original m2v.
Maybe I try this Virtual Dub thing. Can you recommend me a compressor for that? It doesn't list Mpeg2 compressors, only some grneral ones that DVDVideo Soft installed.Last edited by Bencuri; 2nd May 2012 at 13:58.
-
Okay, so maybe it was a dumb thing for the end, but the result is not that bad:
https://www.wetransfer.com/dl/m48ghsRN/285c01b769d44c441ab377a2c1218c203d3a84b73e47532...74b02d9348c89d
It is also the fast download server again.
As this TMPGEnc didn't work, I didn't want to struggle more, just used the Windows Movie Maker to merge the video and audio. This removed the interlacing, but yet the result is not that bad I think. I burned the results to DVD, it is better than the simple 60 to 25 fps conversio with a usual software. -
Guys, I have just noticed that the m2v is shorter than the mp4 that it was converted from. The mp4 is 5 : xx in time, the m2v is 3 : xx
What causes the error? HcGui didn't convert the whole mp4, only a part. There is some shareware limitation, or what? -
No, because I have forgotten. But I will try that. But why is this thing that only about 3 minutes was converted? Because of the Directshow filter being not good?
Also, in AVS2DVD. What shall I set exactly? Just load the script and that's all? Press Start? I don't find an option: Interlacing, 16:9 ratio. I don't need to set that?Last edited by Bencuri; 2nd May 2012 at 15:48.
-
There is no log file, because I didn't set any. But I will do new conversion, and will send.
I used directshow. The conversion is very good, but the output only lasts 3 minutes instead of 5:50.
When opened with directshow, it writes: 17xxx frames , time: 11: xx
when opened with FFMS2: 8xxx frames, time: 5:50
I have just tried AVS2DVD. I aborted the conversion after 1 minute. The file it created is too fast, and 4:3 in size. Is this okay? -
When opened with directshow, it writes: 17xxx frames , time: 11: xx
when opened with FFMS2: 8xxx frames, time: 5:50
I have just tried AVS2DVD. I aborted the conversion after 1 minute. The file it created is too fast, and 4:3 in size. Is this okay?
If you're happy with doing it the other way with other authoring programs, just use HCEnc , but use FFMS2 instead of directshow, or get your directshow filters working properly. Personally I like doing it separately as well, so you have control over everything, but some people find an all-in-one GUI like avs2dvd easier -
I am not happy at all, but this HcGUI - Windows Movie Maker gave acceptable results. Could be better, but not as bad as the first approach in the beginning. I just couldn't see these settings when I checked AVS2DVD converter. Also I cannot find the Interlace option in that. Where is that? In Preferences, I can't see.
-
I have just finished converting with HcGUI and using FFMS2. The result is worse than with DirectShow. It is not acceptable. It is jerky here on my machine.
When I use direct show, HCGUI detects: 17513 Frames
with: FFMS2 8756 frames
The Direct show option deals with 2x more frames, maybe this is the reason for the jerkyness of the FFMS2 option?
I redo it with directshow, and save the log file to see what goes wrong.... Directshow gave pleasing results. -
I think you have a playback problem. Multiplexing doesn't change the video at all. It just mixes the audio and video together.
The file should have 8756 frames. It's about 5 minutes and 50 seconds long, ie 350 seconds. Multiplying by 25 fps gives 8750 frames. It's DirectShowSource() that is screwing up.Last edited by jagabo; 2nd May 2012 at 16:48.
-
How can I solve this playback problem? This way I cannot determint which file is okay and which not. I am very confused now.
But the interesting is that what you have sent me, that m2v plays well. The one that was done with HcGUI and Directshow, plays well, But the the one done with FFMS2 plays terrible.
Is it the case that what I convert with FFMS2, I cannot watch that in fine quality with directshow?Last edited by Bencuri; 2nd May 2012 at 17:02.
-
I'm looking at the ffms2 again and seeing a problem. Every now and then the field order switches for a while causing jerks. I'm looking into it...
I couldn't get that old version of ffms2 to work right. So I went back to DirectShowSource(). That doesn't work exactly right, it thinks there are twice as many frames as there really are and that the frame rate is twice as fast (probably because the MP4 file claims to be 50p when it is really 25i) but that's easily worked around by trimming the length and assuming the correct frame rate. So I'm back to something like the script we had earlier:
Code:Import("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\SmoothFPS2.avs") Load_Stdcall_plugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\yadif.dll") DirectShowSource("1z.MP4", seek=false) AssumeTFF() AssumeFPS(30000,1001) Trim(0,10497) Yadif(mode=1, order=1) LanczosResize(720,576) SmoothFPS2(50,1) SeparateFields() SelectEvery(4,0,3) Weave()
Last edited by jagabo; 2nd May 2012 at 20:10.
-
OK, here's half the 25i MPEG file with Ac3 audio (the full file was too big to upload here). I used the same script, just enabled the interlacing at the end. Encoded with HcGUI, interlaced, top field first, low quality to keep the file size down. How does it play? If you make a DVD does it play smoothly on TV? It should be just as smooth as the 50p MKV file.
-
I did exactly that. But I will try once more.
When I merged that sound and video with Windows Movie Maker, the result was not bad. What if I made a progressive wideo, without the interlacing, and process the files with Movie Maker. If I get a progressive file, at least I can watch it on my computer, too. The original MP4 plays terrible, lots of jerks, jumps, that way I can also watch files on my machine or upload it to Youtube. If it is a good idea, which portion shall I delete to not use the interlacing in the script?
And something else regarding the script. You mentioned that you trim the file by the script, right? But will it surely solve the problem? When I made the video, once it made a 3 minutes file, then a 9 minutes file. In the 9 minutes file, the action ended at 5:00 approximately, and after that there was a motionless picture, it didn't convert the whole action (5:50 is the original length). Isn't it a problem? So indeed, there is twice as much frame, but interestingly in the outcome not the whole action was visible, only a part, and some action was always missing.Last edited by Bencuri; 3rd May 2012 at 12:30.
-
You can make a progressive file for local playback and Youtube, but DVD doesn't support progressive video at 50 fps.
My MPEG 2 file had the entire 5 minute 50 second clip. I don't see anything more than that with the original MP4 file. I trimmed the clip because DirectShowSource() thought the video had twice as many frames. The second half of those frames was the last frame repeated over and over. This problem comes from the fact that your camera incorrectly states that it has a frame rate of 60 fps. It's not, it's 30 fps. That is confusing all the software. So it's necessary to work around that confusion.Last edited by jagabo; 3rd May 2012 at 12:53.
-
When I converted it, that repeating frame was not the last one from the original mp4, but it started repeating those frames earlier for me, once around 3:30 and then around 5:00. The original mp4 is about 5:50.
Can't you give the link to the proper Directshow filters needed for this project? Maybe I have a bad install of thos files, I never installed those, if they are here, that is because they came with one of the softwares I have. Please send me the link, so I can be sure I have the same segments that you use for this project. Then I do the 25i conversion. -
Directshow is the underlying multimedia architecture in Windows PCs. So your directshow filters are mainly the stock ones (splitters, muxers, sinks, mixers, etc) that come with an installation of Windows. If you are Up-to-Date and haven't installed other apps/filters/plugins that might override the stock ones, it should be the same on any installation of that flavor OS. But most likely, you've installed other items which may be conflicting or usurping the role of a stock item. This is very bothersome to track down!...
Sometimes, using known good replacement ones, like Haali or LAV, can get you back on track. But not necessarily.
Scott -
I have Haali installed. But what happens then? Automatically that will function? Or I have to include in the script, to use Haali?
By the way, I have checked the logo of Haali, during some conversions that always appeared on the tray. It means that is in function instead then, no?
Similar Threads
-
60fps video playback on YouTube
By Chipango in forum Video Streaming DownloadingReplies: 12Last Post: 16th Aug 2013, 19:01 -
How do I convert 60fps to 30fps to halve file size?
By DigitalOxygen.ca in forum MacReplies: 33Last Post: 11th Jul 2012, 22:27 -
ReClock v1.8.7.9 to force every video @ 60fps
By SoberWarlock in forum Software PlayingReplies: 11Last Post: 1st May 2012, 08:50 -
Video shot at 60fps looks like sped-up motion on MAC. Please help
By nastiakru in forum MacReplies: 3Last Post: 18th Jul 2010, 20:45 -
how to convert a subtitle from 25fps to 23.975fps?
By Ankin in forum SubtitleReplies: 2Last Post: 16th Jun 2008, 16:28