VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    I have been trying for about 2 days to figure this out but i cannot seem to find a way im sure im missing something but here's what im trying to do.

I have the origional .mkvs for the Anime Parania Agent and i created my own subtitles for the signs/texts that are not spoken and are not in english and i used aegisub im a total newb to this so its nothing special but i tried to make them blend in with the scenes and move with the screens to match and now im trying to hard code them onto the video and keep the effects i have like fading in and out and moving but when i hardcode them with handbrake the effects are gone like they dont move or fade anymore they are just still, they blend in still but the effects are gone. Im wondering how i can keep the effects? Im converting the MKV to MKV with the hardcoded subs but it doesn't have to be to MKV i just like MKV because i find .h264 better quailty than divx or xvid. So could anyone give me a hand please?

Thank you so much.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    According to the Handbrake help page

SSA Subtitles
    • SSA Subtitles can be passed-thru or burned into the video.
    • When burned into the video, all styling (e.g. fonts, colors, etc) is preserved.
      • Animated effects (e.g. fade in/out, karaoke) are not currently supported. (Only the middle frame of the animation will be used.)
    • When passed-thru as text, only bold/italic/underline styles are preserved. Some players may not support the simultaneous display of multiple passed-thru SSA subtitles.
    Maybe what you could do is convert your SSA subtitles to vobsub idx/sub and then add them to the MKV file using MKVMerge GUI. Next process that file through Handbrake and select burn in as the option.
    SONY 75" Full array 200Hz LED TV, Yamaha A1070 amp, Zidoo UHD3000, BeyonWiz PVR V2 (Enigma2 clone), Chromecast, Windows 11 Professional, QNAP NAS TS851