VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I've got an MKV file that plays fine on my computer, but won't play on my tv because, according to Gspot, the "file type" and "mime type" are UNKNOWN. I just want to be able to tag the file with the necessary missing info, so it will be recognized and will play like all my other MKV's. I know what the info is, but I don't know how to add it to the file info, or header or tag ID or whatever it is. I'm a bit of a novice, but not a complete newbie.

What do I need to do to fill in these two bits of missing information?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Your tv might not just support the video or audio codec in the mkv.

But you can try mkvtoolnix and "remux" the mkv, in mkvmergegui under file->options select select "Disable header removal compression for audio and video tracks by default", then open your mkv and make a new mkv. Try play it.

If that don't help post more information about your tv and the mkv(use mediainfo, open mkv, view->text).
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    GSpot's support for video containers other than AVI or MPEG is more or less minimal. If you want to get information on an MKV (or MP4, etc.), use MediaInfo instead, as Baldrick recommended.
    If cameras add ten pounds, why would people want to eat them?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I totally get where you guys are coming from. I didn't want my initial post to be too wordy and long-winded, so I didn't go into too much detail. Here's the deal. I've got an external hard drive full of .mkv files. They're all exactly the same, as far as the codecs are concerned. My LG BD570 Blu-Ray player plays them all flawlessly and lets you view all the specs of each file. That's why I was confused when a handful of my more recent files didn't play. According to VLC and the LG player, it's the same exact codecs involved. So, I was stumped as to why it was choosing to skip over these few recent files.