VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Hey guys i was wondering if you could help me.
    I have a LG BH10LS30 blu ray burner, Problem is it doesnt seem to recognise blu ray media. When i put video in(either blu ray or dvd they play fine no problem, dvds and cds also burn fine, if i put any blank blu rays in the drive windows says the disk is write protected and none of my burning software seems to see the media either saying wrong type of media , ive tried updating the firmware as this drive was working on vista but now im using win7 microsoft say the drive is compatible, ive also tried diffrent brands of media(verbatim and maxell)but still no joy. any ideas..?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    john8611, in the future please use a more descriptive subject title in your posts to allow others to search for similar topics. I will change yours this time. From our rules:
    Try to choose a subject that describes your topic.
    Please do not use topic subjects like Help me!!! or Problems.
    Thanks,

    Moderator redwudz
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    i have the same problem but i didnt know there was a firmware update
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Try using ImgBurn and see if you better results burning.

    This burner is old and it may simply be defective by now.
    Quote Quote  
  5. @redwudz, im sorry
    @jman98, hmm possible but i only bought it new last year

    OK i installed imgburn but im still unable to burn to blu ray, in the bottom left corner in the status box it reads disc not empty, the main left hand page reads

    HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH10LS30 1.00 (SATA)
    Current Profile: None!

    Disc Information:
    Status: Unknown
    State of Last Session: Unknown
    Erasable: Unknown
    Formatted: Unknown
    Sessions: Unknown
    Sectors: 4,278,255,615
    Size: 8,761,867,499,520 bytes
    Time: 950723:30:15 (MM:SS:FF)

    after adding a small video file to burn the burn option is still grey, this is the resulting log

    I 01:48:54 ImgBurn Version 2.5.6.0 started!
    I 01:48:55 Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Edition (6.1, Build 7600)
    I 01:48:55 Total Physical Memory: 16,737,648 KB - Available: 14,557,788 KB
    I 01:48:55 Initialising SPTI...
    I 01:48:55 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 01:48:55 -> Drive 1 - Info: HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH10LS30 1.00-A9 (D (SATA)
    I 01:48:55 Found 1 BD-RE!
    I 01:49:13 Operation Started!
    I 01:49:13 Building Image Tree...
    I 01:49:13 Checking Directory Depth...
    I 01:49:13 Calculating Totals...
    I 01:49:13 Preparing Image...
    I 01:49:14 Checking Path Length...
    I 01:49:14 Contents: 1 File, 0 Folders
    I 01:49:14 Content Type: Data
    I 01:49:14 Data Type: MODE1/2048
    I 01:49:14 File System(s): ISO9660, Joliet
    I 01:49:14 Volume Label: [Not Configured]
    I 01:49:14 Size: 35,816,280 bytes
    I 01:49:14 Sectors: 17,489
    I 01:49:14 Image Size: 35,913,728 bytes
    I 01:49:14 Image Sectors: 17,536
    I 01:49:14 Operation Successfully Completed! - Duration: 00:00:00

    mode is set to write and i have tried several blanks

    incidentaly when i double click the drives icon windows asks me how i want to treat this disk giving me two options 1:as a flash drive or 2:with a cd/dvd drive, option 2 is greyed out, and when selecting as a flash drive i get a message saying disc write protected.
    As before if have again tried blank cd/dvds they work fine, its only with blu ray blanks
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Freedonia
    Search Comp PM
    Your image is massive. It's too big to fit on a single layer BD disc. Also you are using a re-writable BD disc. That's what "BD-RE" means. Maybe your real problem is that you are using only single layer BD discs, re-writable or not, and nothing is being written because it's too big to fit on a single layer disc.
    Quote Quote  
  7. @jman OK i think you misread the log file, the file is a tin 35meg youtube video as a test burn as data, andno the disk is in fact a write once disk i dont know why the log says its bd-re, maybe part of my problem img burnb still shows it as not empty and windows says write protected
    Last edited by john8611; 31st Jan 2012 at 00:50. Reason: wrong info first time
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    I have that same drive and mine works fine with Verbatim (any), also cheap BD-R (4x) Kodak and OptoDigital media.

    Only difference is I'm one generation behind on ImgBurn. Also I'm on 32bit Win7.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	LG-BD.png
Views:	4397
Size:	131.3 KB
ID:	10739

    This drive has yet to produce a coaster since Black Friday 2010.

    Fry's often sells the BD-R Kodak media for around $1 per 25GB disc

    The Kodak media appears to be manufactured by Philips.

    Name:  Kodak_BD-R.png
Views: 11020
Size:  9.1 KB
    Last edited by edDV; 31st Jan 2012 at 02:08.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    mode is set to write and i have tried several blanks
    Set mode to "Build".

    Also your firmware appears to be 1.00 where mine was shipped with 1.01.
    HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH10LS30 1.00 (SATA)
    Last edited by edDV; 31st Jan 2012 at 02:01.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  10. If you are using BD-RE disks, you must format it first.
    You can't write anything without formatting.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    This drive says
    Found 1 BD-RE!
    even for BD-R media.

    Just checked the LG support site. Ver 1.01 firmware is still current.
    http://www.lg.com/us/support/product/support-product-profile.jsp?customerModelCode=BH1...roduct-profile
    Last edited by edDV; 31st Jan 2012 at 02:53.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davechubb View Post
    i have the same problem but i didnt know there was a firmware update
    That kind of posts is of no use and will not help anyone, also with that none info posted no one will be able to help you with...


    In the end, always "i have the same problem" is wrong.
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads