VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member wolfdogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Search Comp PM
    [SOLVED]

    you know, im having a problem lately, i CAN NOT get or find a valid ffdshow MPG2 encoder anymore. i had it working a few months ago, since i have rebuilt my operating system, and i cant find the winning solution. I have tried all my downloads of them, new downloads, 64bit, 32bit, old, new versions, no matter what i cant get that MP2 codec to show up under virtual dub > compression settings > ffmpeg > encoder tab in vdub_x64 or vdub_x32.

    anybody have any suggestions how to get that back? i have win7_x64, but i probably prefer the 32bit codec, since they are easier to come by.

    note, i realize the codec IS probably within a few of the installations that i have tried, but whats the repair trick, and or whats gone wrong with my system or registry to where it wont show up in vdub?
    Last edited by wolfdogg; 11th Jan 2012 at 07:45. Reason: [SOLVED] i would put it in the title if the form would have it enabled
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    The MPEG decoder plugin for VirtualDub: http://home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/Plugins/MPEG2/
    The Ac3 audio decoder plugin for VirtualDub: http://home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/Plugins/AC3/index.html

    For checking out MPEG I almost always use the old but simpler VirtualDubMPEG2 mod of VirtualDub. Many say it does a better job, but I just find it easier to use: http://home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/stable/ . Can use the same AC3 plugin as above. I use the newer VirtualDub for practically everything else. Some newer vDub filters won't work with this version, but it's still handy.

    More similar plugins here: http://home.comcast.net/~fcchandler/index.html
    Last edited by sanlyn; 22nd Mar 2014 at 04:32.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Did you look in the VFW configuration ?

    Many VFW encoders were removed recently ; you need a really old ffdshow version
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Many VFW encoders were removed recently ; you need a really old ffdshow version
    Yes, that seems to be the problem. Only a handful are left:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	ffm.png
Views:	1754
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	10470
    Quote Quote  
  5. I think the ones from 2009 should have it

    Videohelp stores some from back then in the old versions list, even some from 2008


    Or frameserve into another (better) MPEG2 encoder like HCEnc
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
    The question was about encoders, not decoders.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    ffdshow has confused my system on many occasions. So I keep my old ATI All-In-Wonders in service. But I still have the VDub plugins -- I have TEMPGenc and other encoders around, but somehow VirtualDub doesn't want to use many of those files for MPEG playback. Go figure. I played with old/new encoders forever until I just tired of the problems.

    ffdshow encoders, right. Those, too, back and forth, old, new. Some encoded OK, but playback was tricky half the time. Too strange for me. But I still have a 2003 ffdshow on an old Dell Win2000 in storage. I don't know that it will run in a new machine.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 22nd Mar 2014 at 04:32.
    Quote Quote  
  8. The newest version of FFDshow I could find with the full set of VFW encoders was rev.3631 dated Nov 15 2010.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member wolfdogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Search Comp PM
    thanks that did the trick i uninstalled the newer one, and installed ffdshow-rev3026_20090705 now all the encoders are available. without frameserving, is that the best MPEG-2 encoder i can get from ffdshow, or is there a later plugin i can now add to vdub, or is there a later ffdshow i can configure to so i can get the latest best available MPEG-2 encoder available for ffdshow?

    edit; ok, i just saw your post, rev.3631, is that the final solution regarding my question above, or is there a way to get a newer MPEG-2 encoder as mentioned above.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    New York, US
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Many VFW encoders were removed recently ; you need a really old ffdshow version
    Yes, that seems to be the problem. Only a handful are left:

    Image
    [Attachment 10470 - Click to enlarge]
    Oh, man, yes. I've played with that and similar settings for 8 years now, with MPG and other formats, input, output, whatever. I guess it probably works OK for most users or ffdshow wouldn't be in such global use. But its activation almost always gives me problems somewhere. Obviously it's my own setup that glitches up the system (I wonder if ATI's VFW/MPG/AVI stuff has anything to do with it? <- rhetorical question. The WDM/VFW drivers are 2004). This is why I leave ffdshow mostly disabled on all 4 of my PC's unless I have trouble playing files downloaded from elsewhere.

    But as usual, every time I see a post like this I go back later and spend hours twiddling.
    Last edited by sanlyn; 22nd Mar 2014 at 04:33.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by mh2360 View Post
    The newest version of FFDshow I could find with the full set of VFW encoders was rev.3631 dated Nov 15 2010.
    Thanks for the info! I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong, trying to find conflicts etc. to explain why all the other encoders didn't show up!
    Do you know WHY they've been removed in later versions? I don't see the point of the pack without the encoders, for my purposes anyway.
    Quote Quote  
  12. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Newrone View Post
    ...
    Do you know WHY they've been removed in later versions? I don't see the point of the pack without the encoders, for my purposes anyway.
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1467129#post1467129

    We are trying to remove all inferior and non-working stuff. For two main reasons: (1) because they are not maintained and thus we can't do any bugfixes, and (2) to direct users to better alternatives. I absolutely don't mind keeping MJPEG if there are good reasons to keep it. But such arguments should come from people who still use it now and not from people who used it a few times long ago. So far I have seen one good argument, it having good performance for capturing. It having good quality has already been debunked, as other format perform significantly better in that area. Of course the performance argument could use some validation as well.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member wolfdogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Search Comp PM
    well, im guessing the mpeg2 encoders need to be re-evaluated to superior, or much-needed stuff so they can get back into all future versions of ffdshow, lol.

    lets get real, mpeg2, and mpeg1 are not going out of style by any means, and anybody that does capturing and conversions to dvd is likely to play with it, and or depend on it.

    in fact, for me my system cant yet handle capturing straigt into mpeg-2 which pisses me off completely, but im always trying new ways to go 2 step, capture, then conversion to burn. How can i put this "I JUST WANT A SYSTEM THAT I CAN CAPTURE STRAIGHT FROM MY CAP CARD TO MPEG-2" using virtual dub with my pinnacle DV-950 is it, at a high bit rate, slighty higher than needed to do a direct conversion to dvd using nero vision.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads