VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi folks,

I am totally new to ripping and such. I went and bought 42 TB NAS and a new Dune player. My PC is a i5 2500k @4.6ghz, GTX580.

I started to rip my Blu Rays and DVDs with AnyDVD HD and Mymovies to ISO.

Now I'm pretty sure the speeds I am getting for ripping are wrong. I am getting 0.90 - 1.50mbs and a Blu Ray is taking like 6-7hours to rip and a DVD 3 hours. At this very moment my rip speed is 0.05mbs.....

I am a complete nablet when it comes to this so what am I doing wrong? I will be dead before I rip all my Blu Ray collection of 600 films at this speed lol.

Any help is welcomed

Cheers

Peter
    Quote Quote  
  2. First try uninstalling the Blu-Ray drive in Device Manager. (Your problem may be that you're in PIO mode.) Shut down, open the box and unplug then reseat the data cable at both ends. (Possible bad connection). Reboot.

Might as well try the easy stuff first. Good luck.

[EDIT] And welcome to the forum.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Hi thanks for the welcome and the reply.

I already unistalled and did all of that. What I did try was ripping direct to my hardrive instead of the NAS and the rip speed dramatically increased to 15mbs.

My PC hardrive doesn't have a lot of room so I want to rip directly to the NAS. What could be the problem here then?

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  4. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I'm assuming your NAS is connected via a Ethernet cable? Have you tried to just transfer a large file to the NAS from your PC and check the speed with that in the Windows dialog box? Most times I get about 80MB/s transfer speed, sometimes a little faster, to my video server PCs. That's with a gigabit LAN system with CAT5E wiring.