VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am new to this, but from my research so far I believe there are at least 2 basic ways to convert 8mm videotape (analog) to digital: (1) use a digital8 camcorder (my existing camcorder is the older non-digital); (2) use a AV / DV converter like Canopus 110 or DAC-200. I think there is a 3rd way, using a PCI video card or TV tuner with composite (RCA) inputs. Does that alone work? I want to bring in digital avi files so can edit. Ultimately burn to DVDs.
    Q1: are these the 3 ways?
    Q2: what is the best way as far as the quality of the conversion. I am dealing with 10-20yr old tapes of kids, etc. Want to get best result possible. Any and all help / direction appreciated. Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I have used the advc 100 with EXCELLENT results. Simple, easy..what more could you want.
    'Do I look absolutely divine and regal, and yet at the same time very pretty and rather accessible?' - Queenie
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I had a DAC-100 with nothing to compare it to. Once I ran off my analog tapes in a digital8, I could compare. The little camera did about a 20% cleaner job of converting to digital than the DAC-100.
    The best possible would probably be a deck.
    Food for thought...
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I used the Hauppauge 250PVR capture card, analog to mpeg2 at the same quality that they currently have. From there you can pretty much so what you want with them. ConvertX to DVD will do a good job to burn to DVDs. If you want to author with menus, there are several free programs listed here that will do that. I used Pinnacle Studio to do that with all my family archives, but members here can recommend free programs.
    Quote Quote