VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    Hello,

So I use Subtitle Workshop to sync subs that have incorrect timings. However, all the methods of adjusting the timing described in the program's HELP guide involve knowing the time of the last spoken dialogue. So, obviously the ending of the movie will be ruined for you since you have to watch the ending to find out the time of the last spoken dialogue.

I was wondering if there is a way to synchronize the timing of SUBS without using the time of the last spoken dialogue (for example can you use a point like half-way or three-quarters way through the movie).

Maybe there is a way to do it still using Subtitle Workshop, or maybe another program?

Thanks Allot

PS I AM A NEWBIE AND NOWHERE CLOSE TO THE ADVANCED LEVEL OF MOST OF THE PEOPLE WHO RESPOND ON THIS FORUM, SO I'D GREATLY APPRECIATE LISTING THE STEPS INVOLVED (NOT JUST THE NAME OF THE PROGRAM TO USE), THANKS AGAIN
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Dogpoundz View Post
    So I use Subtitle Workshop to sync subs that have incorrect timings. However, all the methods of adjusting the timing described in the program's HELP guide involve knowing the time of the last spoken dialogue.
    No they don't.
    That is "2.2.1 Method 1: simple adjust, first and last dialogs"
    Read one more paragraph and you'll find "2.2.2 Method 2: synchronize using two points".
    That's ANY two points -- not to mention, "2.2.4 Method 4: advanced subtitle adjust", using several points.

However, rarely are the last words of a movie an actual spoiler. Even in a murder mystery, there are usually a few scenes after the reveal.
    The actual last words are usually quite unrevealing.

But if I do get "spoiled" by reading a subtitle in advance, I put it aside for a few months till I've forgotten it before I watch it through. Just seeing a scene out of context doesn't stick in the mind really.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM