VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm a VirtualDub noob, trying to append one .avi file to another .avi file.

Error msg: "Cannot append segment "C:\...\filename.avi": The video streams have incompatible data formats. (Mismatch detected in opaque codec data at byte 14 of the format data.)"

*Before that message*

To join a pair of files, I understood I needed to change a file's resolution (from 720x544) to match that of the other file (640x480),
    and also it's codec (DX50) to match that of the other file (XVID).

I installed DivX and XviD codecs.

Unsure whether to try changing both resolution and codec in one step (should I?), I tried changing resolution first:

I went to "Select video compression" and saw DivX codecs (divx, yv12) , but not the same FourCC as in the file (DX50). Since yv12's "Format restrictions" box said "couldn't find compatible format", I picked divx. Then in the Resize filter, I entered 640x480 by selecting "Aspect Ratio" = "Disabled in the Resize. Then I saved as, which changed the resolution as I hoped (to 640x480), and left the codec = DX50.

With that file, I tried changing it's codec to xvid, by selecting it in "Select video compression". Then I Saved As.

Now I had two files which GSpot show have matching resolution (640x480), codec (xvid), and framerate (25/s). Yet when I tried to append them together, VirtualDub gave the "incompatible data formats" error I mentioned above.

I wonder if Audio is the issue. The file I've been working on (because it's a smaller patch), is:
    0x0055 MPEG-1 Layer 3, 48000 160 kbps tot, Joint Stereo
    and
    0x0055 MPEG-1 Layer 3, 48000 128 kbps tot, Joint Stereo
    is the other file.

Should (and if so how?) do I change the first file's kbps from 160 to 128?

VirtualDub 1.9.11
    XP Pro sp3

This is intimidating stuff. Please help!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM