VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm a newbie to video production and would like to hear your feedback on an aspect ratio issue.

We ran into an issue at our church where I need to shoot video with 4:3 Sony DXC-D30 standard def cameras, run it through a Sony DFS-700 switcher, and project it live on a screen in 16:9 aspect ratio without stretching the image.

None of this equipment will automatically crop off the top and bottom of a 4:3 image to simulate a 16:9 aspect ratio.

My thought is to shoot video without using the top and bottom portion of the frame, knowing that the top and bottom will be cropped off to simulate a 16:9 aspect ratio.

Questions:
    - Does technology exist that will take live video coming out of the DFS-700 switcher and automatically crop off the top and bottom of the image to produce a faux 16:9 image that can be projected to the screens?
    - Is there an easier way to accomplish this goal?

Thanks for the help!
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    To do what you want requires re-encoding,a lot easier solution is to get a camera that shoots in 16:9,there's lots of forum members that can further help you with the right camera and welcome to the forums.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the welcome and the quick response!

I forgot to mention a critical point - the equipment was donated to the church and they have no budget for new cameras
    I was hoping that some manual workaround exists.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    No work around,you will have to re-encode.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You would need to re-encode on the fly in a hardware box (expensive) or software (requires very fast CPU).

The hardware approach is used by TV station master control. Consult your local TV station Chief Engineers for hardware suggestions.