VideoHelp Forum

Try StreamFab Downloader and download from Netflix, Amazon, Youtube! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!

Try StreamFab Downloader and download streaming video from Youtube, Netflix, Amazon! Download free trial.

+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I just read the howto on downloading youtube videos. I am not clear about what thing. On Youtube there is the choice to select video quality - 240p, 360p or 480. Does this choice affect the quality of the video being downloaded?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Yes it does. Some of the download apps pick the best possible and/or allow you to pick what you want.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks! I have noticed that most of the programs that download youtube, google, etc come a "lite" version and the higher quality features require paying a fee - most about $40. Is there freeware that will download at the higher quality res? I am new to this whole arena - I feel like I have been new to this technology for the past 30 years because it keeps changing so rapidly - and have a few questions that will hopefully save me a lot of time and grief. I know that flac is the best archive standard for audio. Is the avi standard the best archive for video? I would like to choose the highest quality to download and then modify it for my android, pc, etc after that.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Here you go: http://www.freemake.com/
    I use the Video Converter for everything. Paste the Youtube URL you want to copy, choose the final format you want, and click Convert. I have found no difference in the finished download from the original Youtube video. I also use it a lot to strip the music off the video. Excellent quality. If you want to enhance music to your personal taste, I use Audacity with the Steven Bramley (spelling?) installed filters.
    Last edited by ranchhand; 17th Sep 2011 at 23:15. Reason: spelling
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM