VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Thread
  1. I am operating in Windows XP and using the latest version of VirtualDub to capture via my Diamond One Touch VC500 from VHS tapes...I am capturing in uncompressed AVI (UYVY it says for Capture Pin Color Space). I am trying to figure out how to get the best dynamic range out of my capture with the lights and darks and then hopefully calibrate the colors. I capture uncompressed so I will have the highest possibly quality to work with for restoration and then converting to MPEG2. I am still a bit of a newbie but any help would be much appreciated as to how to properly achieve the best range in color/contrast from while capturing...the default levels for brightness, contrast, saturation, hue etc via the DC500 are TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Here are some screencaps...please let me know if any further info is needed:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Video.jpg
Views:	544
Size:	197.1 KB
ID:	8681Name:  Levels.jpg
Views: 3916
Size:  38.2 KBClick image for larger version

Name:	Histogram.jpg
Views:	537
Size:	145.1 KB
ID:	8683
    Quote Quote  
  3. Here's another PrtScr of the Histogram while actually playing a VHS...the previous Histogram capture was just of the VCR's blue screen:

Name:	Histogram while playing.jpg
Views:	599
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	8685
    Quote Quote  
  4. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    UYVY? That means a colorspace conversion, likely more than one, before you get to MPEG. Most color correction is done in RGB (VirtualDub, Premiere, Vegas, AfterEffects, etc.). Most filters use a different colorspace, e.g., RGB (Vdub, Premiere, etc), or YV12/YUY2 (AviSynth). Huffyuv lossless compression lets you capture with no quality loss to YUY2, with smaller files.