VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Help using AVStoDVD

I've been using AVStoDVD for the past 2 weeks to create episodic discs. I use it to put five titles (22 minute episodes) on a DVD-5 disc.
    Last night, I encountered a problem because the episodes were recorded on another DVR than the one I usually use.
    When I open the VLC media files (.mpg), I get the following message:
    MPEG2 Video stream found in VTS_01_1.mpg.
    It is strongly recommended to index it.
    Press YES to create the index and demux audio or No to use standard approach.

I tried both ways.
    I noticed the resolution is 704 x 480

My problem is this:
    The output size is HUGE so now I can't put the usual 5 episodes on a disc (DVD-5). I can only fit three 22 min. episodes on a disc.
    How do I fix it so I can put 5 episodes on a disc without losing quality?

Any suggestions? I am not good with technical jargon.
    Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by Ronny G; 18th Jun 2011 at 09:31.
    Quote Quote  
  2. file size = bitrate * running time

Use a lower bitrate.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you! I will try lowering the bitrate.
    Quote Quote  
  4. To fit five 22 minute episodes you'll need to use a bitrate around 4500 kpbs depending on what audio type you use. The lower the bitrate you use the worse the quality will get.
    Last edited by jagabo; 18th Jun 2011 at 20:04.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM