VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Banned
    Search PM
    Hello everyone!

I have some 720P file in disk, most are movie and show kind content, format is WMV/AVI(xvid)/MKV, I want to transcode into H264 for smaller size and compatible to my 32” LED TV with least quality loss.
    My source is as 4000-7000kbps, progressive, 1280x720 or similar, I studied a lot on doom9’s topics and x264 settings in wiki, after days testing and the problems I’m facing is:

1. As my acknowledge, the x264 is more efficient than WMV/XVID/DIVX, so my target bitrate is around 3000±200kbps, any suggestions about this bitrate for 720P H264?

2. Some experienced guy indicated me to encode by CRF 21 rather than 2 pass vbr for this kind of lossy format, but I find to some movies the result(both quality and file size) from crf20/21/22 varies too much and different to control, what do you think?

3. Here is my code use Megui, but the process is rather slow in my outdated P4, please help to give some suggestions if this could be done better?

--level 4.1 --pass 1 --bitrate 3000 --stats "*.stats" --deblock -3:-2 --b-adapt 2 --ref 9 --merange 32 --me umh --subme 9 --partitions all --no-fast-pskip --sar 1:1 --output NUL "*.avs"

--level 4.1 --pass 2 --bitrate 3000 --stats "*.stats" --deblock -3:-2 --b-adapt 2 --ref 9 --merange 32 --me umh --subme 9 --partitions all --no-fast-pskip --sar 1:1 --output ".mp4" "*.avs"
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You can't have both best filesize and best quiality. If you're leaning towards quality, go with #2 and realize that sometimes the file will be smaller and sometimes it will be larger depending on what the video needs to maintain a given quality and not necessarily what you would like. I'm more worried about quality than filesize, so I always go with CQ.