VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Dear all, I have been using Virtualdub and Avisynth now for 3 years, so I am not veteran but have some experience.

I want to restore digitally imported old VHS tapes (15 to 20 years old). I like to deinterlace the footage and do some color/artifact correction before encoding them to H264 MKV. As I have quite a few videos to go (around 40 tapes of 2 to 3 hrs) I tested out several settings in both programs, to make a standard filter workflow that I sort of can apply to all tapes.

I first did some runs in Virtualdub, but since I make an intermediate huffyuv encoded vid which I then encode to H264 with a better encoder, my preference now goes to using Avisynth, to do all at once without big intermediary files.

I am importing the videos with a Sharp VC-M31 VHS player. I originally imported the videos in .mpg of around 7 Gb for 3hrs video. Is it worthwhile to import the videos in huffyuv .avi, guess the quality is better then?

After fiddling with lots of filters and deinterlacers in virtualdub, I noticed that (surprisingly) the simple standard blend deinterlace gave me the best result: when I used HQ deinterlacers as smart/smooth/area based deinterlace, I noticed noise/artifact gain, especially some nasty horizontal lines:

I have included 4 sample videos in this link. (Samples with the noise to a black background, sample of the horizontal lines, sample later in the video). Below 2 example screens...

I am now testing Avisynth deinterlacers and mostly get the same (enhanced noise) result. Of course I prefer fast scripts, but quality is more important to me, so slow scripts are welcome. I am also trying to get TempGaussMC_beta2 or QTGMC to work, but these deinterlacers will not work, when I set up my script and test it in AvsP, it gives me an 'function not found' error. I am googling a lot to find answers, but no solutions yet…