VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM
    From supposedly bootable ISOs: a few successes, several failures. Hoping to identify the wrong or missing ingredient(s).

I'm using Write Mode, following the right steps, according to what I've read. (I know that Lightning UK stops by here sometimes, so I'm hoping he might see this.) Don't get me wrong: I'm a big fan of your work, and ImgBurn has long been my Go To app for burning video. Just found your guide for taking FLAC to CD, and the first few trials of that went quite well. It's just this bootable media thing that -- so far, for me -- is a case of working "Not So Much."

Firstly, have to say that I'm not technically well-versed in this area, even though I've been doing this for years -- but mostly with other software. I've almost never had a problem doing this with Nero, can't recall a a single failure using RSJ (though that wasn't their version for Windows). But I'm about to look to some other programs that are capable of burning ISOs to disc, based on the non-booting results I keep seeing with IB. I may next re-try a couple of these with Nero, just to see if anything comes out differently.

The ISOs that have worked out were things like Hiren's Boot Disc (a few different versions). These seem to be Linux-based, and have files like ISOLINUX.BIN and BOOT.CAT in the root. I've also seen some working discs that had that 'El Torito' track you need a hex or sector editor to see, rather than any visible files that are clearly booting-related. Those can't be the only two mechanisms though, and I must be missing something or misunderstanding what is going on with some others. Once burned (with IB), I just get an "Error Booting CD" (or DVD). I can post what I see in the root structure of the disc, if that might help.