VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. Member spiritgumm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Trying to make an xvid from a 29.97 fps dvdr video which has 2 duplicate fields followed by 3 blended fields. Have usually gotten advice to use these two lines in script, and they work when I preview in AvsP, and play the script in Media Player:
    Yadif(mode=1, order=1)
    SRestore(frate=23.976)
    Rest of script is just cropping, greyscale and resize.

    But when I run the whole movie thru Vdub (which I'm using to make the xvid in 2-pass) I get two problems: an error text across the screen (see pic), and over time the video starts to get choppy.
    I did a short sample xvid test clip made of a couple trims, and only the first trim in the output has the error text.
    Also, sample xvids made from later parts of the movie come out fine, rather than being choppy like in the complete xvid.
    I dont recall having this problem before with this script. Could be my PC being buggy, or perhaps I'm not using Srestore correctly or am missing a plugin. Look familiar?
    error.jpg
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	error.jpg
Views:	441
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	6556  

    Last edited by spiritgumm; 21st Apr 2011 at 00:18.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    This is a mysterious error that has been occasionally reported in the past but never resolved.

    Please post your entire script as every bit of information may be relevant.
    Do you still get the error if you remove the lines after SRestore()?
    Are you using the latest SRestore (v2.7e)?
    Which version of Avisynth are you using?
    If it is the MT version, try running the 'vanilla' version instead.

    I am not the author of SRestore, but I am familiar with its internals and have previously tried to track the problem down (without success). The logic of the function suggests it should 'never' happen, so I suspect it may be due to some sort of memory corruption. (Another possibility is a global variable clash - you don't just happen to have a variable called lfr in your script, do you?)

    Based on my understanding of the symptoms, a possible workaround may be to jump to a different frame on the timeline before rendering the file. Does this make any difference?
    Quote Quote  
  3. I've seen that error before. I don't remember exactly what the fix was but it had something to do with incompatible versions of different filters. Make sure you are using the right versions of each of the filters that SRestore() calls.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    With default settings, the only external filters used by SRestore are from MaskTools.
    Make sure you are using the correct Masktools dll, mt_masktools-25.dll for Avisynth 2.5x, and mt_masktools-26.dll for Avisynth 2.6x. Using the wrong one certainly can lead to memory corruption.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member spiritgumm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Pretty sure I used Srestore recently without issue, but I might have added some plugins to try to get Qtgmc to work, which are conflicting.
    Using Avisynth 2.5. Had been previously using the 25/26 dll's from mvtools-v1.11.4.5. I just tried the 25/26 dll's from mvtools-v2.5.10.1 but same error.
    Running Vdub in "fast recompress" so no colorspace change required.

    LoadCPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\yadif.dll")
    v=MPEG2Source("C:\Documents and Settings\Desktop\Breakfast\1.d2v", cpu=0)
    a=nicac3Source("C:\Documents and Settings\Desktop\Breakfast\1 T80 2_0ch 256Kbps DELAY 0ms.ac3")
    audiodub(v,a)
    AssumeTFF()
    Yadif(mode=1,order=1)
    SRestore(frate=23.976)
    greyscale
    crop(8,0,-4,-6)
    lanczos4resize(576,432)
    resampleaudio(48000) #sometimes not included in runs

    video sample
    2.demuxed.m2v
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by spiritgumm; 21st Apr 2011 at 08:20.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by spiritgumm View Post
    Had been previously using the 25/26 dll's from mvtools-v1.11.4.5. I just tried the 25/26 dll's from mvtools-v2.5.10.1 but same error.
    Do you mean Masktools, not mvtools?
    For Avisynth 2.5, you should only use mt_masktools-25.dll.
    If you also have mt_masktools-26.dll in your plugins folder, remove it.

    Did you try my suggested workaround?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member spiritgumm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Gavino,
    oops, I meant Masktools - I copied the wrong folder names here. My stupid.
    I removed the 26 dll, and no error! Thanks! But will this fix the choppy video which occurred later in the xvid? Should I be adding some kind of conditional parameter in case the fields aren't following the exact order I described?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    I think it should work OK now that you have the correct dll.
    When an error message is written on a frame, it also means that SRestore hasn't processed the video and just returns the original frame. So with the error removed, normal processing should be restored.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member spiritgumm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I'll post back when it's done in 6 hours, assuming the power doesnt go out and interrupt the process.

    later:
    Worked perfectly and in less time. Wish I posted it here couple days ago. Many thanks.
    Last edited by spiritgumm; 21st Apr 2011 at 14:32.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Search Comp PM
    Glad to have got to the bottom of this mystery.
    Thanks to jagabo for starting me on the 'incompatible filters' trail.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads