VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Just found and joined this forum. I'm a complete newb to video editing and need a lot of help. I hope you will tolerate my dumb questions. I promise to listen, but I'm a slow learner sometimes.

Recently I acquired a Magnovox VHS/DVD bi-directional dubbing player-recorder. I will use it to take old VHS tapes to DVD. Because I'm not a very good photographer (worse years ago) there is a lot of dross on the tapes. I was too dense and too impatient to learn anything about editing with the technology available 20+ years ago. Now I want to edit the video to get rid of the dross and possibly add voice over and maybe titles and other features, but I need to learn a lot before I can really begin.

I have successfully dubbed VHS tapes to DVD using the Magnavox. I've even found and installed Avidemux2 on my core-duo laptop. I copied the DVD directories to my hard drive and was able to get the files ripped using Avidemux2. Now I'm pretty much at the end of my string. I've searched the web for tutorials on using the software and found some good ones that describe how to do specific tasks. Now I need to learn more. I've identified 2 areas for further learning: general terminology and processes involved in video editing; and specifically how to use Avidemux2.

My reasoning in choosing Avidemux is that it is free, it has a good reputation, it seems to have all the power I can use at the moment. If I find that I can do this and that Avidemux no longer meets my needs, then I will consider investing in software; but I need to get some experience and learn many things before the investment would be worthwhile.