VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Poll: How do you backup your o/s?

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 24 of 24
Thread
  1. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    I use backup software to create an image of the whole o/s drive.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    I don't. I just backup my documents and workspace folders.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    i just put it in reverse, make sure there's no one behind me and i floor it.

    seriously, i only back up my pirated porn and illegal movie/music downloads, everything else i just re-pirate as needed
    Quote Quote  
  4. Bootable clone to another hard drive for the OS. For data, backups to another hard drive plus backups to DVDRs.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Had to choose "other". I have backups of a naked install and one of the install with my favorite, vital(to me) programs. Everything else is just backups of data....photos mostly....but also my My Documents folder and my Downloads folder.
    Quote Quote  
  6. I don't backup much, but what I do, I do manually.
    "Shut up Wesley!" -- Captain Jean-Luc Picard
    Buy My Books
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Search Comp PM
    I Backup an image to an external drive-God help the poor bastards who don't, unless they like reinstalling the OS. This has saved me on several occasions.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by pepegot1 View Post
    I Backup an image to an external drive-God help the poor bastards who don't, unless they like reinstalling the OS. This has saved me on several occasions.
    i'm a tad confused, you back up an image of the OS to an external hard drive? how does this help you in any way? in order to use an image on a hard disk you need to have an OS up and running, don't you?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Man of Steel freebird73717's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Smallville, USA
    Search PM
    Not necessarrily.

    I don't know what pepegot1 uses but paragon backup does image backups that can easily be restored without a functioning os. If you ever need to restore you use the boot cd or flash drive (that you were prompted to create when you made your first image) to boot the computer. Then you can restore from your image on the external drive.
    Donadagohvi (Cherokee for "Until we meet again")
    Quote Quote  
  10. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Most softwares that do full image backups have boot discs or flash drives that can be made,even windows 7 can do full image backups that can be accessed with a win7 install disc.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member pirej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Macedonia
    Search Comp PM
    I do o/s partition backup(image) with "Paragon B&R", i have made my "boot cd", so i can restore the image with or without OS installed(functional).
    I have 1 "clean install" image burnt to dvd's, i do backup's weekly on hdd, and 1 monthly on external hdd.
    Paragon B&R and Acronis TI, saved me a lot of hours work, i do backups of all of the friend's PC's that i maintain.. FOR FREE.. as a friend
    Quote Quote  
  12. BuskerAlley.com zoobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Search Comp PM
    I put XPP on every backup HDD I have just in case. Rather than using the OS disc itself, I find that it's much easier to use HDClone which has a free version. I just bought a 1TB HDD (Hitachi $49 delivered from Newegg) and the cloning worked perfectly.

    I would like to hear of other cloning aps, too.
    Quote Quote  
  13. DVD Ninja budz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    In the shadows.....
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    I don't. I just backup my documents and workspace folders.
    Ditto!
    Quote Quote  
  14. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    I keep my important documents and files backed up on DVD, BD and external drives. I haven't backed up my OS and installed programs, but I probably should. I do have a copy of Acronis True Image and I like it for system BU.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member yoda313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Animus
    Search Comp PM
    I generally don't.

    I do have norton restore on a computer and an external harddrive but I haven't backed up recently. I usually just burn media files to disc as a backup for that stuff.

    I really should do some more stuff like that to keep on top of it.

    I do have a restore drive on my vista pc - oem hp model with a partitioned drive on it for restoring vista.
    Donatello - The Shredder? Michelangelo - Maybe all that hardware is for making coleslaw?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    California,United States
    Search Comp PM
    I have 2 clones of my hard drive.

    Tony
    Quote Quote  
  17. The topic is confusing, is it just your OS, or your HD? My OS came in a cd. It doesn't need to be backed up.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Search Comp PM
    deadrats: read this:

    I use Easeus Todo Backup and back up all drives(OS+Data) to an external HD. Then, if I get a virus or a HD fails, I can easily restore the drive from the external drive image to its recent status. It has come in handy, in the past, many times over the years! I have a second external drive to backup the first one as I have two computers. Each external drive has the image of both computers. If an external drive fails-I am still OK! Work smart-not hard.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member Seeker47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by zoobie View Post
    I put XPP on every backup HDD I have just in case. Rather than using the OS disc itself, I find that it's much easier to use HDClone which has a free version. I just bought a 1TB HDD (Hitachi $49 delivered from Newegg) and the cloning worked perfectly.

    I would like to hear of other cloning aps, too.
    XPP ? Whazzat ?

    I've used Acronis TI and DFSEE. (The latter is more techie, and less typical-user-friendly.) But there seem to be a few others around. Norton / Symantec GHOST was very big in this area for a long time, though I don't hear it mentioned so much these days. Dantz Retrospect ?

    I like the idea of having a pristine install image + a reasonably current and fully populated one. Also like Cal_Tony's idea of having at least one "understudy" clone of the boot drive, ready to swap in. These are things I've done before, and am working on to have again.

    So -- no one makes slipstreamed reinstall discs with all the OS patches, apps, and your numerous customizations ? This was supposed to be possible up through at least XP, and remains something I would like to explore.
    When in Las Vegas, don't miss the Pinball Hall of Fame Museum http://www.pinballmuseum.org/ -- with over 150 tables from 6+ decades of this quintessentially American art form.
    Quote Quote  
  20. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by handyguy View Post
    The topic is confusing, is it just your OS, or your HD? My OS came in a cd. It doesn't need to be backed up.
    How do you backup your o/s?

    How is the topic confusing?You can backup your o/s to hd,flash drive or dvd/bd and even online. Backing up your o/s is done to save all your personal settings and programs,using your cd wont do that.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    DriveImage XML
    Quote Quote  
  22. Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    Originally Posted by handyguy View Post
    The topic is confusing, is it just your OS, or your HD? My OS came in a cd. It doesn't need to be backed up.
    How do you backup your o/s?

    How is the topic confusing?You can backup your o/s to hd,flash drive or dvd/bd and even online. Backing up your o/s is done to save all your personal settings and programs,using your cd wont do that.
    OS = operating system. e.g. W7, XP, comes on a cd or dvd.

    If you want to backup everything then that would be a HD backup.
    Quote Quote  
  23. BuskerAlley.com zoobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Seeker47 View Post
    XPP ? Whazzat ?
    XP Pro
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    These days :

    - Acronis to backup my primary partitions ( , but Paragon is my all-in-one "cup of tea") - full backups on DVDs ( at lower speed : e.g. x4 ) / incremental backups on logical partition
    - important documents,projects - on external drive + DVDs
    - important music/videos - on DVDs +/- external drive
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads