VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Couple of questions that I think I know the answers to but would appreciate feedback from others. I am looking at a new system and have choice between the following:

1. Which of the following options is the better - Dual Intel® QuadCore Xeon™ E5506 Processors or the Intel 6-Core i7-970 CPU 3.2GHz 6.4GT/s 130W 12M.

I would think the Xeon would be better but I am not an expert on chip performance.

2. There are numerous Xeon chips with varying numbers of cores, threads, speed and cache. Are the higher numbers the better choice in regards to video capture, editing and rendering or is there some type of tradeoffs between the choices?

3. Also, saw an article stating that “We do NOT recommend setting up your computer with a single RAID 0 array as your boot drive and video storage. This will actually give you poor performance for video editing. The constant reading and writing of small bits of data to the boot drive works against the need to read & write large continuous video files. Add in the overhead of the RAID controller and you get potential bottlenecks. For video editing you always want to have a dedicated drive or RAID array for your video files.” I have a couple of Raptor Drives (10,000 RPM) that make for an extremely fast system. I had intended to use my Raid 0 array to write the captured video to a second non-Raid drive (1TB, 7200) to archive and eventually work with the files. Should there be any issues doing this?

Thanks!!!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You have this upside down. First explain what this computer is for.

Is it a server for processing financial transactions for a bank?

If for video editing, what software and why do you need uncompressed?
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote