VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    ..because Eac3to (+Surcode) encodes to 768 but the result file is 755 according to mediainfo.
    Of course it is not that important but still confusing. So what's the difference between the two numbers? thank you.
    ps. Some people call it 755, others 768, so which is correct?
    Last edited by mkvonly; 22nd Feb 2011 at 08:12. Reason: instead of converts -> encodes
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Ok, so...obviously it seems I'm not the only newbie here, or is it rather superficiality? I've seen dozens of unanswered threads on this site.
    It's a shame.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    768 kbps is correct. No idea how mediainfo reads the bitrate. It could be something as simple as mixing 1024 and 1000 during calculations.

If it is that important to you, you could go the Mediainfo support page and ask the question or post in the support forum.

As for the 'dozens of unanswered questions' - what about the thousands of answered questions ? Perhaps people just thought your was something you could work out for yourself, with a little googling. Or it just got lost in the shuffle. Don't take it personally.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  4. DECEASED
    Search Comp PM
    Blame DTS, Inc. themselves for the confusion.
    754-point-something kbps is the actual value.
    The same applies to "1509 kbps".
    If you have the chance to use the DTS-HD Master Audio Suite,
    you will also get in touch with the diference between the following "official" bitrates
    — 256, 320, 448, 512, 640 , 1411.2 kbps — and the *actually-used* bitrates
    — 255, 318, 447, 510, 639, 1234.8 kbps —
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 8th Mar 2011 at 22:38. Reason: better wording
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    What's a rounding error between friends
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Banned
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mkvonly View Post