VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Thanks to everyone who helps me on this. This forum is very valuable for us media server guys. I normally just troll around reading, but this one warranted a question for me.

    My goal is to have a single file HD video that works with all my xbox 360s and my Samsung LED TVs over the newtork. I spent about 4 hours figuring out with ffmpeg the correct output encoding combo for my blugay backups, and I have it working on all my devices now. I went to encode my first full length movie file with ffmpeg and it processed up untill the file size reached 2gb, when then it just hangs @ 25% cpu and does not proceed any further. I have tried this in different ways, but was wondering if its because I am running a 32bit version of FFMpeg -- if so, anyone know where I can get a built 64 bit ffmpeg with h264 support?

    Input files are 20-30 GB - Output files should be 7-10 GB (reduced bit-rates for xbox mainly)

    Command Line:

    ffmpeg -i "M:\HDRips\videoin.m2ts" -vcodec libx264 -fpre "M:\ConvertTools\bin\share\ffmpeg\libx264-medium.ffpreset" -b 6000k -acodec copy -threads 4 m:\movies\videoout.mp4 -acodec aac -ab 384k -ac 2 -strict experimental -newaudio

    Last few lines of output:

    frame=59809 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2123209kB time=2492.74 bitrate=6977.6kbits/s
    frame=59811 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2123360kB time=2492.82 bitrate=6977.9kbits/s
    frame=59813 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2123508kB time=2492.91 bitrate=6978.1kbits/s
    frame=59815 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2123656kB time=2492.99 bitrate=6978.4kbits/s
    frame=59816 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2123731kB time=2493.03 bitrate=6978.5kbits/s
    frame=59818 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2123882kB time=2493.12 bitrate=6978.8kbits/s
    frame=59820 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2124031kB time=2493.20 bitrate=6979.0kbits/s
    frame=59822 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2124162kB time=2493.28 bitrate=6979.2kbits/s
    frame=59824 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2124275kB time=2493.37 bitrate=6979.3kbits/s
    frame=59825 fps= 3 q=28.0 size= 2124326kB time=2493.41 bitrate=6979.4kbits/s

    At this point, ffmpeg.exe just runs at 25% cpu (1 full core) indefinitely with no progress. I assume its hung up -- tried two times and it stopped at the same spot.

    Anyone else have this same experience? Should I just download the ffmpeg source, and rebuild my own x64 version, or have you guys had luck with mp4 past the 2gb container with h264?

    Info on the conversion input:

    M:\ConvertTools\bin>ffmpeg -i "M:\HDRips\videoin.m2ts" -vcodec libx264 -fpre "M
    :\ConvertTools\bin\share\ffmpeg\libx264-medium.ffpreset" -b 6000k -acodec copy -
    threads 4 m:\movies\videoout.mp4 -acodec aac -ab 384k -ac 2 -strict experimental
    -newaudio
    FFmpeg version SVN-r26400, Copyright (c) 2000-2011 the FFmpeg developers
    built on Jan 18 2011 04:09:28 with gcc 4.4.2
    configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-libgsm --enable-libvorb
    is --enable-libtheora --enable-libspeex --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg
    --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libopencore_amrwb --enable-libopencore_amrnb
    --enable-libvpx --disable-decoder=libvpx --arch=x86 --enable-runtime-cpudetect -
    -enable-libxvid --enable-libx264 --enable-librtmp --extra-libs='-lrtmp -lpolarss
    l -lws2_32 -lwinmm' --target-os=mingw32 --enable-avisynth --enable-w32threads --
    cross-prefix=i686-mingw32- --cc='ccache i686-mingw32-gcc' --enable-memalign-hack
    --enable-shared --disable-static
    libavutil 50.36. 0 / 50.36. 0
    libavcore 0.16. 1 / 0.16. 1
    libavcodec 52.108. 0 / 52.108. 0
    libavformat 52.93. 0 / 52.93. 0
    libavdevice 52. 2. 3 / 52. 2. 3
    libavfilter 1.74. 0 / 1.74. 0
    libswscale 0.12. 0 / 0.12. 0
    [NULL @ 008fba50] start time is not set in av_estimate_timings_from_pts
    [NULL @ 008fd940] start time is not set in av_estimate_timings_from_pts
    Input #0, mpegts, from 'M:\HDRips\videoin.m2ts':
    Duration: 01:57:35.11, start: 599.958300, bitrate: 31740 kb/s
    Program 1
    Stream #0.0[0x1011]: Video: h264, yuv420p, 1920x1080 [PAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 23.
    98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 90k tbn, 47.95 tbc
    Stream #0.1[0x1100](eng): Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1, s16, 640 kb/s
    Stream #0.2[0x1200](eng): Subtitle: pgssub
    Stream #0.3[0x1201](eng): Subtitle: pgssub

    Thanks for the assistance. Hope someone can put me in the right direction.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    2Gb limit should not be related to 32 or 64 bit FFmpeg version. But I don't see you add a extra audio track...

    M:\ConvertTools\bin>ffmpeg -i "M:\HDRips\videoin.m2ts" -vcodec libx264 -fpre "M
    :\ConvertTools\bin\share\ffmpeg\libx264-medium.ffpreset" -b 6000k -acodec copy -
    threads 4 m:\movies\videoout.mp4 -acodec aac -ab 384k -ac 2 -strict experimental
    -newaudio
    If so, I would take this off and try again.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by Chris K View Post
    2Gb limit should not be related to 32 or 64 bit FFmpeg version. But I don't see you add a extra audio track...

    M:\ConvertTools\bin>ffmpeg -i "M:\HDRips\videoin.m2ts" -vcodec libx264 -fpre "M
    :\ConvertTools\bin\share\ffmpeg\libx264-medium.ffpreset" -b 6000k -acodec copy -
    threads 4 m:\movies\videoout.mp4 -acodec aac -ab 384k -ac 2 -strict experimental
    -newaudio
    If so, I would take this off and try again.
    Yes, the goal was to copy the original source audio as the primary audio track, but have a fallback audio track that both the xbox and tv could handle. This process worked well in my testing. I wanted the original audio track (TrueHD, DTS, etc) for my movie room to pass the sames direct to the receiver keeping the original movie experience and no audio loss.

    I will try right now dropping the second, converted audio stream to see if that helps.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Yes, now I see! This should be valid so I'm afraid that dropping it won't solve the problem.

    Just to be sure, Is the device you're writing the output to NTFS formatted? As I remember well, FAT32 has that 2Gb limit.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member racer-x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from the Sun
    Search Comp PM
    Is the HDD you're exporting to formatted as FAT32? That could be the problem.
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by racer-x View Post
    Is the HDD you're exporting to formatted as FAT32? That could be the problem.
    Thanks guys -- Yes.. NTFS filesys --- and almost all of the video sources are 20-30 GB.

    any other ideas? Should i load up my CentOS VM, and try it from there? Have any of you encoded a file past the 2gb mark?
    Quote Quote  
  7. So, just a quick update -- I dropped the second audio stream (which I really need to complete my goal). It is past the 2GB mark and still processing -- now past 2.5GB.

    Come to think of it, ffmpeg.exe did say that aac was experimental so I had to put in the command line to permit that.

    So, next thing that comes to mind is --- $hit.

    I'll have to find out if I can get another audio codec to work instead of AAC in an mp4 container. Maybe mp3 audio?

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/945416
    and
    http://i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp60/samsung_hd_tech/DLNA7000.jpg

    What do you guys think? AAC bug of some kind?

    Travis
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by BrainiakZ View Post
    What do you guys think? AAC bug of some kind?
    Yeah, that crossed my mind too! Googled for some Gb>Kb calculators and they all say 2Gb is 2097152kB but at your posted log FFmpeg already passed that at the time it hung.

    Your profile reports your CPU but not your OS but when I assume it's Windows, you could try this FFmpeg build which supports libfaac as shared dll.

    http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
    Quote Quote  
  9. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by BrainiakZ View Post
    I'll have to find out if I can get another audio codec to work instead of AAC in an mp4 container. Maybe mp3 audio?
    mp3, mp2, mp1, ac3

    AFAIK no muxers and no splitters support DTS in MP4
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Originally Posted by BrainiakZ View Post
    I'll have to find out if I can get another audio codec to work instead of AAC in an mp4 container. Maybe mp3 audio?
    mp3, mp2, mp1, ac3

    AFAIK no muxers and no splitters support DTS in MP4

    Yea, that was going to be next question.. I couldn't mux the DTS stream as a "copy" into the mp4 container.. but I wanted to iron past this issue first which seemed more of a major issue.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by Chris K View Post
    Originally Posted by BrainiakZ View Post
    What do you guys think? AAC bug of some kind?
    Yeah, that crossed my mind too! Googled for some Gb>Kb calculators and they all say 2Gb is 2097152kB but at your posted log FFmpeg already passed that at the time it hung.

    Your profile reports your CPU but not your OS but when I assume it's Windows, you could try this FFmpeg build which supports libfaac as shared dll.

    http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
    Thanks Chris --

    Win7 x64

    I will try that build out to see if I get any luck with it.
    Quote Quote  
  12. So far so good.. still trans-coding right now but its past the 2gb problem... (past 3gb now). final test will be the final output and if everything looks and sounds good.

    Current command line for those interested and future searchers:

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i "M:\HDRips\input1.m2ts" -vcodec libx264 -fpre "M:\ConvertTools\bin\share\ffmpeg\libx264-medium.ffpreset" -b 6000k -acodec copy -threads 4 m:\movies\output1.mp4 -acodec libfaac -ab 384k -ac 2 -newaudio
    Next goal, figure out how to get the original TrueHD / DTS tracks over -- but sounds like not in mp4 container. Maybe AVI. Some research needs to be done now. Ill start a post if I run into issues.

    Thanks again Chris -- hope this helps someone in the future searching for the same thing.

    Anyone know if FFMpeg has a VC-1 encoder available? I know I can leave the original stream in, get 1080p, and add a secondary audio stream. Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  13. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Next goal, figure out how to get the original TrueHD / DTS tracks over -- but sounds like not in mp4 container. Maybe AVI.
    "Vanilla" DTS can be safely wrapped in the AVI container.
    DTS-HD, DTS "Monster" Audio and Dolby TrueHD cannot —
    — these require a transport stream or an MKV.

    Anyone know if FFMpeg has a VC-1 encoder available?
    It doesn't The only command-line VC-1 encoder that I'm aware of is avs2asf.exe:

    http://www.tintime.talktalk.net/AVS2ASF.zip
    Quote Quote  
  14. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    Well, TinTime broke the link above, so I've just uploaded my hex-edited and UPXed modification of "avs2asf" :
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  15. I had some problems with mkv files, and trying to use FFMpeg to move m2ts files to mkv -- some kind of strange error. I honestly gave up on it.. and just moved them to 2 channel audio but I am keeping the original 30 gig m2ts files for the TrueHD if I need it for the movie room

    mkv i wish was supported on xbox360. Then I could have h264, + 2 channel audio (for the xbox), and the original TrueHD stream as an alternative audio stream all in the same file. The xbox could play its supported format, and when I use the PC to playback, I can select the TrueHD stream and send it to the receiver to be decoded. Life is fully of wishes

    Thanks everyone for the help.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads