VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi all,

Since it's obvious that you all know your "stuff" very well, I'd like some advice. Can you fill me in on which of the apps in this post are obsolete or just not "worth it"?

Brace yourself... long-winded post:

AutoGK - I really like this one, so I hope it's not looked down upon too badly.

AviSynth - I'm just starting to learn how to use this and really like it as well.

BeSweet - I have a feeling this might be looked down on at least a bit, but it's the only app I've tried that properly encodes 5.1 AC-3s... and believe me, I've tried a plethora of them.

BSMUXWIZ - This is the only tool that creates MUX files that when fed into BeSweet will properly encode 5.1 AC-3s. It's definitely not anything to write home about, but it's all that works, at the moment.

DGIndex - I don't know what your thoughts on this one might be.

DVD Shrink - Used often and I like it.

DVDFab - Love it.

DVD-lab Pro - Despite not being good at using it, I like it.

DVD2AVI - I haven't used this in ages and apparently don't need to...?

FixVTS - Thoughts?

FreeDVD - Thoughts?

IfoEdit - Used to add some details that are occasionally left out of indie DVDs.

Neat Video - Another one I really like and use from time to time.

SmartRipper - Occasional use.

TMPGEnc - Doesn't look outdated, but looks can be deceiving...?

VirtualDub - Used all the time.

VirtualDubMod - Used in conjunction with VirtualDub.

VLC - I'd like this better if it would properly output 5.1 mixes. For some reason it only lets me choose Mono or Stereo. Other than that, I don't know why one would pay for DVD-playing software...?

Thanks in advance,

Justin
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    If a tool does the job you want, the way you want it done, and with satisfactory results, who cares how old or 'outdated' some may consider it to be?