VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie to this kinda thing but I downloaded this awesome BDRebuilder program to backup our bluray discs (I have 4 children and am soon considering just a media player for mkv. files) nonetheless we are wanting to back up the BD. SO! I have backed up two movies, How to Train Your Dragon and Gladiator, but both had crazy pauses that made the disc jump back to a previous place in the movie several times. I then downloaded the inspect application and ran it. It found one of my settings was off so I was excited to run it again today once it had been setup properly. I even took another suggestion and bought a rewriteable disc, just in case. So I opened BDRebuilder today and started it on The Other Guys. A few minutes into the movie an error message that said that the Wavi.exe file had stopped working and BDRebuilder had stopped working as well. Once I clicked OK on the message report, BDRebuilder started working again but I stopped it since I'm not sure what I am going to wind up with if that file stops working. Could you help me figure this out?

Thanks,
    Chris
    Quote Quote  
  2. Welcome to the forum, Chris.

Okay, first things first. Pauses and jumps are almost always a media problem. The usual advice here is to use Taiyo-Yuden (available online only) or Verbatim (but not the Value-Line series, or whatever it's called, I forget). Perhaps just as important, you should use only ImgBurn for burning video, whether DVD-Video, AVCHD, or BD. If you're using crummy discs, try burning at 8x with ImgBurn and see if that helps.

I'm assuming you're backing up to BD 5/9 (DVDR) and not BD25. If the latter, just set BDRB to *not* re-encode the audio and your problem being solved, you don't need to read any further.