VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I've captured hours of analog PAL tapes into MPEG-2 720x576 6000MBs 25fps format.
    Not sure if this was the best choice, but it's too late now, the stuff is from 1980s
    anyway...

Before starting anything serious, I'd like to trim, cut and otherwise just REMOVE footage.

Q1: My questions is: will the quality of scenes that remain in the .MPG file deteriorate
    with every saving to a new disk file operation? In other words, should I do everything
    in one sitting, or not worry and edit/save any number of times?

Q2: By the way, I still have to choose the tool for this trim/cut task. It looks like
    VirtualDub does the job for AVI, not MPEG-2, so can anyone recommend the
    best (freeware) one? As a newbie, I'm totally lost...

Thanks in advance
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You should be fine as long as no re-encoding takes place. Usually, you are just saving a Project file (containing all your edit info), not necessarily re-encoding.

Freeware mpeg-2 editor: Mpg2Cut2. It cuts-only on I-frames and does not give you a lot of bells and whistles, but it doesn't cost anything, and does a basic job.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the quick reply!

I realize that a project file of a full-blown app just keeps pointers into the original file, along with
    effects and transitions.

But I also want to reduce those huge .MPGs, hence my urge to start by trimming and cutting and then use a tool like
    Vegas, Premiere, or whatever, on those smaller files. I need to have them on USB sticks.

Is there a tool that can do that safely - just trim/cut/save and not re-encode in the process and leave
    its project files around? Is Mpg2Cut2 it?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by KZemunski View Post
    Is there a tool that can do that safely - just trim/cut/save and not re-encode in the process and leave its project files around? Is Mpg2Cut2 it?