VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member Lathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Search Comp PM
    Hello all! Been a while

    Well, I have what I THOUGHT was a pretty good functioning version of WinXP that has been tuned up and maintained and has been running smoothly; however lately it's done a few odd things which might have to do with why I'm writing this thread.

    Mainly, I have just started into backing up my Blu-ray movies. I have DVD FAB HD which seems to be just fine and I also have the latest version of Imageburn. I'm using high quality Ritek BD-25s. Now the first couple of burns came out just great. VERY simple. Just rip the disc using DVD FAB to file folders (BDMV + Certificate folders, all automatic) Then click on 'Write', put a blank disc in and done. However, for some COMPLETELY unknown reason I'm all of the sudden getting strange CRC errors after ripping the disc and when I go to burn it. This has happened the last 4 times I've tried (which as you can imagine with Blu-ray media it's not the most enjoyable thing in the world ) Anyway, sometimes the burn goes 75% or 10% and boom, CRC error. Goodbye blank disc...

    So, now lately I HAVE indeed been noticing some odd behaviours with my OS. No, I have Avast updated automatically and running along with Windows Firewall of course, etc., so I really do not think I have any viruses or anything. But just REAL recently my comp has rebooted mysteriously, usually when loading DVD FAB for no reason. And just a few other odd little things.

    Now, a few years ago just before I re-installed this last time, I started getting a ton of CRC errors and bad burns with DVDs and after I re-installed everything has been just perfect for the last few years. Just NOW with burning Blu-rays I'm getting the very first CRC errors in 3 or 4 years. Probably NOT a coincidence...

    Any suggestions? Are there any common causes for this specific thing (CRC errors while burning Blu-ray discs when you have good software and good quality discs?)

    I'd surely appreciate any help out there!

    Thanks kindly!

    __________L@the
    Quote Quote  
  2. Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ®Inside My Avatar™© U.S.
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
    I'm using high quality Ritek BD-25s.

    I am pretty sure those two words do NOT go together in the same sentence......

    high quality & Ritek

    I would not use Ritek for dvdr's let alone Bluray!!!!!
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    CRC (Cyclic Redundancy Check) errors are usually internal to the burner or sometimes a communication error with the burner or a media problem. Not usually burning software. The data you are sending the burner is not the same as the burner is seeing or reading, hence a CR.

    Cables are sometimes the cause. Or it may be an internal burner problem. Or less likely, a problem with the OS that is interrupting the data flow. The other most common cause is the media itself. I would try a different brand BD, such as Verbatim, and see if the problems continue. Media quality can vary. Especially with some brands. This is the cheapest and easiest route to try.

    If that doesn't help, try changing your burner cable.

    More on CR: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyclic_redundancy_check
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Lathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Search Comp PM
    Wow, that was fast!

    Thanks RED! Hmmm, I never thought about the cable; it's a brand new LG Blu-ray burner (good reviews) and it DID burn a few Blu-ray discs just fine. Is it REALLY that common to get bad Blu-ray media within a decent name like Ritek? Geez, VERBATIM is just SO dang expensive and I've had really good experience with Ritek DVDs and the BD-Rs are reviewed well.

    I'm now trying my new copy of ANY DVD to rip the disc instead of DVD FAB, so MAYBE that might help, I sure hope so! I know ANY DVD is pretty strict with it's data handling, so we'll see...

    Thanks so much again RED!!!


    ____________L@the
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Lathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Noahtuck View Post
    Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
    I'm using high quality Ritek BD-25s.

    I am pretty sure those two words do NOT go together in the same sentence......

    high quality & Ritek

    I would not use Ritek for dvdr's let alone Bluray!!!!!

    Heh..., I just now saw your reply. C'mon mate, don't me TOO much of a snob now We're not talk'n Optimum Crap or whatever that other one is. Honestly, I've burned literally hundreds of Ritek DVDs and I truly cannot remember the last time I had a bad disc. But then that does not necessarily mean that their BD-Rs are any good. I really like TAIYO YUDEN and probably use that a lot more, but I haven't seen any of their BD-R media yet

    Okay, let me please ask you this (even though it's off-topic, sorry) If I really SHOULD use another brand, which ones would you recommend and WHERE is a good place on line to buy them ------REASONABLY----- ? Especially if I want GREAT printable quality?

    Thanks!!!

    _______________L@the
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    West Texas
    Search PM
    I've been using Verbatim BD-R disks with no issues. Stick to their regular inorganic disks, not the LTH variety unless you know for certain that all your burning and playback equipment are compatible with them. The inkjet printable Verbatim BD-R are very pricey compared to the Riteks, but can be found at the usual places, like rima, supermediastore, Amazon, etc.

    There were some problems reported with early runs of Ritek BD-R disks, but not much has been said about them causing problems over the last year or so, and so I thought they had that fixed by now. Ritek's quality control has always been questionable.

    Taiyo Yuden does make BD-R media, but they are LTH.
    Last edited by Kerry56; 12th Dec 2010 at 18:04.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Lathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks kindly for the additional information. Interestingly, I earlier this evening tried to burn CREEPSHOW first to the horrible Optimal Quantum or whatever it was and right at 14% I got a CRC error. So, I tried one of the Ritek discs and oddly right at 14% I got the same error, so in this particular instance I don't THINK it was the media because that would just be too coincidental. Perhaps when I ripped it with Any DVD something was wrong with the resulting folders, I don't know. Very weird stuff...

    Oh yeah, also, if it was the burner cable or drive, I don't THINK that both discs would have caused the exact same error at the exact same place, do you think...?

    Thanks all!

    _______________L@the
    Quote Quote  
  8. Blu-Ray rips are very large files, obviously. I now have a hard drive dedicated solely to BD rips (plus the OS drive, one for capture/editing, one for rendering, a scratch drive, and an archive drive, etc). In the past I have found that if I try to rip to a hard drive with any significant amount of data on it that's not in a single block, AnyDVDHD will output a *severely* fragmented file. Same can be true for encoding output.

    This has on occasion caused BDRB to throw an error and quit. Moving the file to another hard drive or simply defragmenting the drive fixes the problem. Not a common problem, but if the fragmentation is bad enough...

    I confess that I haven't seen a CRC error while burning in ages. Easy enough for you to check the above though. Good luck.
    Last edited by fritzi93; 12th Dec 2010 at 14:25.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Lathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Search Comp PM
    Ah, excellent thought mate! That's true, the drive that I'm using as the destination drive I just recently removed a huge amount of data and I KNOW that it is severely fragmented. That might very well be it since like you say the files are indeed very big.

    Thanks for the good idea!

    _______________L@the
    Quote Quote  
  10. Good idea *IF* it fixes the problem.

    If not, well, process of elimination. I'd check all the easy stuff like cabling too. And all the other suggestions you've received so far. When you mentioned two failures at the same spot, that's all I could think of.

    Good luck.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  11. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    Cabling problems are not so likely, but still a simple cable change might be worth at try.

    With just about any disc brand, there can be differences between boxes of media. I suggest Verbatim as they seem to have better quality control, IMO. I would try at least one VB, just to try to rule out the media.

    If you use ImgBurn, check the burn log after a burn. It may give you some clues. I would also agree that ripping to a fragmented HDD could cause problems.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Yeah, it would be good if you could post a log.

    Just recently a guy posted about burning problems and everything in his log files looked like a hard drive or communications error. Then he says he replaced the optical drive and problem solved. Poof! There went another fine theory. But usually a log file is quite helpful.

    Oh well...Anyway, process of elimination.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member Lathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Search Comp PM
    Well, for what it's worth guys, I just installed Win7 on another drive and made my first successful burn of a Blu-ray! And that was with the UBER crappy Optimum Quantum disc (or whatever the hell it's called)

    So, I don't know if I just got lucky or if the new OS did help, but I DID take your advice and used ANY DVD to rip the disc to another NON-fragmented drive, so that really could have helped too (Hey, I'll take whatever I can get! )

    Thank you all for such FAST and helpful replies; that was really awesome!

    CHEERS!!!

    _____________________ L@the
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads