VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm fairly new to Mac, and one thing I'm really struggling with is video conversion and transcoding...

Here's a couple of scenario's;

I have a HD mkv file, 720p with 6ch AC3/Dolby Digital or 6ch DTS audio. I want to recode it to XviD avi, keep the AR, res, audio etc. Just change codecs and containers. But I can't seem to find anything to do this?

#2 - I want to convert an xvid avi, like the above, with 6ch AC3/DTS audio to SD DVD - I want to keep the correct AR, obviously the res will reduce to either 480p (NTSC) or 576 (PAL), and I want the 6ch audio to be included. Chapters every 5 mins would be nice. This is something that was INCREDIBLY simple to do on Windows (ConvertXtoDVD) - but for the life of me I can't do it on Mac?

I've downloaded and tried the following;

VisualHub
    FFMpegX
    MacX Video Converter Pro
    ReduxEncoder
    Burn

I've also got Handbrake (useful if I need to encode a video specifically for iPhone or ATV), Mac The Ripper (not used it yet) MKVTools (also not used), Perian and VLC are installed (thank god, cos nearly everything I convert that creates and mpg file QT can't play it!)

Is there not simply something I can use that will a) do what I want, b) be SIMPLE to use (FFMpegX is horrible to use!), c) has enough settings I can change/alter if nes (ie, tell it to keep the audio / re-encode the audio, etc) and have a little control over, without it being difficult to use like FFMpegX

On Windows, I mainly used ConvertXtoDVD (super simple, and very effective - did all the things I needed it to) for file to DVD conversion, HDConvert2x to code from HD mkv to HD xvid/avi, and AutoGordianKnot to creat an AVI from bare DVD rip files. Anything else I just used Format Factory so the day to day recodes of small files...