VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi. I'm new to video conversion, but trying to learn, so I apologize if anything I write here sounds dumb or obvious to you guys. I will start by saying I have done multiple google, yahoo, and forum searches for a solution, but can't find anything similar to my problem, which is why I'm looking for help from some one here. Here's my issue...

I have captured all of my mini-dv tapes to my pc in avi format. As you know, each of these files is 12-13GB in size. I would like to convert them to mpg or mp4 format to reduce the size. Yes, I know I will lose quality, and yes, I know it's probably best long term to buy more storage, but I have lots of tapes and space gets eaten up quickly. Also, my main reason for wanting to compress the files is because I can fast forward the compressed home videos better on my tv using my PS3 via my N wireless network as opposed to using the original avi files (which won't forward much more than 10X, if I'm lucky)...using tversity by the way.

In any case, when I try to convert some of my avi files to mpg using free conversion software like winx avi to mpg or hampster (just the couple I found while searching), the software gives me an error and then shuts down completely. The software I have that will convert the files all the way through is AVS 6.3. However, after conversion the audio cuts out after a period of time, which could be 25 minutes, or 40 minutes, or something else, it depends on the file. The video is fine, just no sound at all. I confirmed the original avi file has sound all the way through. I have tried to convert to mpg, mp4, compressed avi, and others, all with the same result...audio/video good for a while and then video with no audio. The weird thing is the newer files are fine, good video/audio all the way through, this is only a problem pm files after a certain one, and I'm not sure what changed at that point that might cause the problem.