VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Dear all,

Hi! I'm having a problem converting, and editing, MTS files from a Canon Vixia HF-M300, and I'm hoping someone can help me out. I'm a music student who uses this camera to record my rehearsals. I also do computer work as a hobby, so I'm not completely out to sea here, but, despite teaching myself everything I could about video formats, conversion, and editing, I have run out of ideas. I'll be as detailed as I can in explaining what I've tried, and what I understand and don't.

The HF-M300 records in AVCHD. I need to edit its video files, cutting out sections of them, and convert those sections to something more widely supported -- either H.264 or MPEG-2 pt. 2 (for burning to DVD), and preferably to both formats.

I'm using all open-source software, except my operating system (Windows XP), and I've had several problems along the way.

Problem I. Opening these MTS files in a video editor. I've tried the following:

I.A. VirtualDub. To get it to read these files, I'm using a DirectShowSource AVISynth script. They load, but the aspect ratio is wrong (more on this later) and, more importantly, they play back full of visual distortion -- square compression artifacts and some choppiness. (The speed of the video and audio, however, is correct.) Anyway, VirtualDub won't export to anything other than AVI, which isn't ideal.

I.B. AviDemux. I've tried a number of things here, including using AVSProxy, which I prefer to constantly making little AVS files. As per the recommendations at http://avidemux.org/admForum/viewtopic.php?id=4397 , I've installed, as plugins: Haali Media Splitter (which I also ran the full install for, which is why VirtualDub can open my AVS script), FFMpegSource (I also have FFDShow, of course), DGAVCDEC and DGMPGDEC, and Nic Audio (which I don't even think I need). Through AVSProxy, I can get video to load into AviDemux via:

I.B.1. FFVideoSource.