VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. We are receiving then retransmitting a video signal from a satellite feed. I observed that our retransmitted video is wider by a few millimeter compare to the video from our source. Our system is composed of receiver, converter (PAL to NTSC), encoder, multiplexer then modulator. What could be the problem?

    Thanks....
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    What do you mean by 'a few millimeter'? You mean the horizontal pixel width is different? There may be additional spacing added by the satellite feed. Though usually that's in the vertical direction. What are the dimensions in pixels, vertical and horizontal? Converting from PAL to NTSC may also be causing a problem as the normal pixel frame sizes of PAL and NTSC are different.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Yep, its about the transmission standards and the hardware involved.

    There is still also overscan... 1088 and so on.
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  4. I think it was not the horizontal pixel width its the picture that stretch. I was able to receive the same channel transmitted by other control site with the same system to us ( receiver, converter (PAL to NTSC), encoder, multiplexer then modulator), their video is ok. We can notice that the station logo is displayed beyond the TV border, it was cut into half but on the video of other control site the logo was fine.Please note that I am using a same model of TV monitor and receiver in comparing the two Satellite feed.

    Thankyou for your replies.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, everything possible.

    But you don't know what they do prior "re-transmission" with the signal....

    I have seen such differences countless times, during feedhunting.
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  6. Is there anything I can do, an additional equipment perhaps? or changing my configuration? I tried to check the output video for every equipment starting on the receiver; there is a slight expansion and as the signal enters a new equipment, expansion extends more.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    What modulation format do they use over there?
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  8. SD or HD signal?
    Quote Quote  
  9. What modulation format do they use over there?
    SIr we are both using QPSK modulation transmitted on Ku Band

    SD or HD signal?
    SD sir
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    QPSK ....a bit more specific please.
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  11. Sir,

    I don't have any idea on how to make it more specific.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

    is it in DVB-S or DVB-S2?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVB-S2
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  13. Sir we are both using DVB-S standard..
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member [_chef_]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Phew, no more ideas into thatissue.

    Have you tried contacting and asking some experts, maybe even C. Mass (Dr.Dish)?
    *** Now that you have read me, do some other things. ***
    Quote Quote  
  15. Hehe.. thankyou sir, I guess I have to study further every equipment included on the system. And hope that there a setting for this....
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads