VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Hi All, I am a Newbie my computer is my Hobby! I am still learning" but I take a long time to absorb stuff especially this. So here goes. I will ask 3 questions as they are a bit different.
    1) Can I Download a Movie ‘AVI etc’ save it to my ‘Hard Drive’; then encode it with MediaCoder with whatever Coding will work?

Then Burn it to a Video-CD-RW 12/700mb/ (I do not have a DVD Burner)! Then Play them back on my digital DVD-Recorder – Player and DigitalTV? If so What encoding do I use and can you explain in detail please?

I have all the Spec’s of what my Digital DVD-Recorder/Player can play. I have already tried with a “movie” that was AVI but the Player say’s “No Disc” yet when you Read the DVD Players Spec in the 'Manual' It states ‘AVI’ ‘Divx’ The Playable codec’s are listed as:

DIV3-MP4-Mp2-Mp3 and DX503 the Audio listed is AC3 m-PCM-MP2- MP3-WMA CD Format - ISO 9660 JOLIET (See the Attachment) Remembering I do not have a DVD Burner.

2) Can I also download and save Video Streams of TV repeat Docos and program's has and put them on a Video-CD-RW and Play them on the DVD-Recorder/Player. DTV
    Hoping you can help Cheers Dasha
    3) Can I download non Protected DVD Movie to my Hard Drive and do that same as above.

My Computer is for “Home Use” and my hobby! It Is: a 2003 - Dell Desk Top with LCD 20" Screen, Intel Pentium 4 CPU, 2.80 Gig (75 % ) Un - used + 512 Meg Ram with Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller’ and Running MS Windows Pro XP P3 & MS Office 2007 (Non Commercial)! In addition, MS Wireless Keyboard and Mouse.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by dashas; 15th Jul 2010 at 23:23. Reason: Forgot Stuff
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You can just buy a DVD burner for $20 and have a much higher quality of 4.3GB per disc versus 700MB on your CD
    Then you can learn to make DVD's properly