VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello. I'm a video producer using Premiere Pro 7 to edit, then burning to BetaSP, adding closed captioning as I burn (process: firewire from editing system to Panasonic AG-DV2500 dv deck, acting as transcoder. S-video out of dv deck to cc encoder, s-video out of cc encoder to video input on BetaSP. Secondary laptop feeding caption text file to cc encoder).

Now, a TV station that airs my program has asked if I can start providing my content as an .avi(dv), .mov, or .mp4 file rather than on tape. To do this I have to find a way to re-encode the captioned tape, maintaining the line 21 caption data, OR, find a way to route the output of the captioning encoder back to a computer to encode the composite video/caption signal to a digital file. I hope to not have to purchase a separate computer with capture card to encode as I output from my existing editing system. If I do, is there a capture card/software available that maintains line 21 data?

Anyone know of a way (within reason price-wise) to capture the output from the cc encoder onto my laptop, keeping the cc data? Or any other ideas?

I've tried a test where I played the beta tape back through the dv deck and captured an avi on my edit system using MS Movie Maker (I know my version of Premiere Pro doesn't capture cc data), but it ignored the cc data, at least when I played the file back from MS MM to my cc monitor.

Thanks for considering.
    Last edited by jbaber; 23rd Jun 2010 at 13:52.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Did they say what format to use if you supply the closed captions as a separate file?

I play around with N. American closed caption data (from DVDs and ATSC TV captures) using consumer-level software and equipment. As far as I know, MPEG-2 video is the only digital format that supports them in its standard.