VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    While I haven't tried them myself yet, since TY rebranded itself as JVC, they've had those gold-topped discs in what looks like retail packaging available at sites like Meritline and SMS. Has anyone actually seen them in a store or even on the website of an online store that didn't previously sell TY?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    I haven't seen them in stores yet but they are available here in Europe online.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    been all i have been receiving for a couple months from meritline.

Click image for larger version

Name:	jvc-ty_label001.jpg
Views:	290
Size:	147.1 KB
ID:	2002
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hoo boy, I have been having issues with the new-branded JVC TY disks whose label is shown in the previous post.

A bit of background first -- I video my wife's group performances at the end of each quarter and provide the movies on DVDs to the participants. Most play them on set-top players, the rest on their computers. I had learned from painful experience that the Taiyo-Yuden 8x DVD-R "premium packs" from Supermediastore.com played on almost everything -- old set-tops, new set-tops, and any computer dating back to early Macintoshes (but not on HP, though). The 16x did NOT play well on set-top players, even though it did work on almost all computer DVD players and/or recorders.

About the time the label changed from Taiyo Yuden to "JVC for Professional" use (yeah, right) things went very awry. These disks will burn and verify perfectly on the computer, and in fact will verify perfectly on my Pioneer 111D ver 1.23, 116D ver 1.09, and a NEC ND-3550A -- burn on any and verify on any -- all perfect. HOWEVER, they play without error on VERY FEW set-top players. Not acceptable for my needs.