VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Hello , I use for editing software Vegas 8c . After editing I exporting to mini DV tape and deliver this master tape to broadcasting studio to broadcast on cable TV - public access channel. The Broadcasting studio want to have on my master tapes black level 7.5 ire.
    Please help me with some advice what to do.
    What have to be checked or what plugin have to be used in Vegas 8?
    Do I have to do something in Vegas 8 before rendering master video? Do I have to do something Vegas 8 before exporting master video to mini DV tape?
    Please help, thanks. John Mirek
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    They must be taking anlog directly off the camcorder. Problem is most consumer DV format camcorders output with zero IRE black from a correctly mastered tape.

    The cable access channel should fix this with their equipment. They can do it with an analog "proc amp" or use a device like a Canopus ADVC-100/110 to output correct analog levels (7.5 IRE black) from a typical consumer DV camcorder*.

    What they are asking you to do is create a non standard tape. I highly disagree with this strategy. Eventually they will fix their analog levels problem then their tape library will be incorrect.

    If you must do this I'll try to create create a Vegas project setting for 7.5 IRE video (digital 32-235).
    Am I correct to assume you are shooting with a standard DV format camcorder? Model numbers would be helpful.


    * The consumer camcoder would output digital DV (IEEE-1394) to the Canopus ADVC. The ADVC will output 7.5-100 IRE analog when the dip switch is in the 7.5 IRE position. A pro DV deck or camcorder will also have the 7.5 IRE switch.
    Last edited by edDV; 10th May 2010 at 10:55.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  3. I editing from many diferent camcorders and sources and formates like Mpeg 2, DVAVI, American Ntsc, European Pal. Master tape I recording on DV recorder DSR 11 in NTSC. I think the 7.5 black level is need in all american broadcasting studios. I have in Vegas video 8 is in Tools - Video output - Video output FX - Sony Broadcast Colors - Conservative 7.5 and I have 7.5 IRE setup - checked and Studio RGB (16 to 235) - checked . It is right ? Or what to do?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mirek View Post
    I editing from many diferent camcorders and sources and formates like Mpeg 2, DVAVI, American Ntsc, European Pal. Master tape I recording on DV recorder DSR 11 in NTSC. I think the 7.5 black level is need in all american broadcasting studios. I have in Vegas video 8 is in Tools - Video output - Video output FX - Sony Broadcast Colors - Conservative 7.5 and I have 7.5 IRE setup - checked and Studio RGB (16 to 235) - checked . It is right ? Or what to do?
    OK I misunderstood. The DSR-11 should have a 7.5 IRE switch is this correct? If switched to 7.5 IRE, then a standard 16-235 DV tape should play correctly to analog 7.5-100 IRE.

    You should use standard DV project templates and "Studio RGB (16-235)" for the waveform monitor. 7.5 IRE should be unchecked for DV, HDV, AVCHD DVD, etc. This setting is for studios that run digital 7.5 setup. That is rarely done these days. Most studios use 16-235 digital levels.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	monitor_setting.jpg
Views:	1039
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	1786
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Your SMPTE Bars (NTSC) test pattern should look like this on the digital timeline.

    100 = digital 235

    0= digital 16

    Click image for larger version

Name:	DV-NTSC.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	1787
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  6. My Sony DSR-11 do not have a 7.5 IRE switch. This 7.5 IRE switch is typical by JVC or Panasonic models. What about my Video output FX ? Do i have right setup ? Please see my picture bellow. Thanks
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenHunter_07 May. 10 12.24.gif
Views:	770
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	1788  

    Quote Quote  
  7. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    According to these guys
    http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/long-black-line/44824-panasonic-ag-dv2500-sony-dsr-11-a.html

    the DSR-11 puts out incorrect analog levels (Japan 0 IRE NTSC) similar to consumer models so you will need a proc amp or Canopus ADVC to output correct analog levels as explained above.

    This would also be true inputting analog to the DSR-11. Analog 7.5-100 IRE video would end up 32-235 on the digital timeline (aka washout problem). You would need to adjust black level in vegas.

    The ideal fix is to input and export analog video through a Canopus ADVC-100/110 with the dip switches set to NTSC and 7.5 IRE. Then you won't need to adjust black in Vegas. This is what I do.

    The ADVC connects to the DSR-11 through the IEEE-1394 port (audio and video bi-directional).

    Last edited by edDV; 10th May 2010 at 13:09.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mirek View Post
    My Sony DSR-11 do not have a 7.5 IRE switch. This 7.5 IRE switch is typical by JVC or Panasonic models. What about my Video output FX ? Do i have right setup ? Please see my picture bellow. Thanks
    That filter is intended to correct a 32-235 level shifted input. I need to research the modes and will post back later.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  9. I dont have Canopus ADVC100, I have home a ADS PYRO A/V link do you think is good too? If not ten I do not want to buy any new hardware. Did you saw my picture above ? Do you think this setup in Video Output FX will be helpfull?
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mirek View Post
    My Sony DSR-11 do not have a 7.5 IRE switch. This 7.5 IRE switch is typical by JVC or Panasonic models. What about my Video output FX ? Do i have right setup ? Please see my picture bellow. Thanks
    That filter is intended to correct a 32-235 level shifted input. I need to research the modes and will post back later.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member edDV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern California, USA
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by mirek View Post
    I dont have Canopus ADVC100, I have home a ADS PYRO A/V link do you think is good too? If not ten I do not want to buy any new hardware. Did you saw my picture above ? Do you think this setup in Video Output FX will be helpfull?
    The Pyro is similar. I haven't measured that the analog levels are correct.
    Recommends: Kiva.org - Loans that change lives.
    http://www.kiva.org/about
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads