VideoHelp Forum
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi.

I don't usually give advices on forums, mostly because I'm not a full expert on anything, but I'm willing to stake my house on this one:
    Don't install the K-Lite Codec Packs! Ever! (And it's probably best to try and stay away from other codec packs, too!)

I have re-installed Windows on one of my computers about 5-6 times since I got it, in 2004. Two times, including the most recent installation, I used the K-Lite Codec Pack, and it completely messed up a large amount of settings (mostly related to playback and video editing), causing issues that are making me rip my hair out by the roots, time and time again.
    Uninstalling an installed codec pack is not exactly a great idea, either. It won't be the same as having your PC registry and codec settings clean in the first place
    Of course, message boards like this one have helped be with certain problems, but not by much. (These packs will take quite a lot of liberties with the settings of your poor PC, and even the most knowledgeable people will tell you to do a re-install.)

If you don't believe me, here's a web page more respectable than the thread I initiated:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/wiki/Why_Codec_Packs_Are_Bad

So, just say no to K-Lite! It's crap.

Search PM
    Uh oh. Be prepared to face the wrath of the K-Lite fanboys who will be here very shortly...

3. Evidently a good many people install KLite and get away with it. Not that I'm saying it's a good idea, mind you.

Nimo codec pack was the bad one. Curse you Nimo!

[EDIT] If you need to run programs that are the least bit touchy about configuration (BDRB, AVCHDCoder, etc.) then yeah, you're screwed with *any* codec pack.
    Last edited by fritzi93; 8th May 2010 at 06:34.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!

4. Member
    Search Comp PM