VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey all, well this is my first time posting here regarding conversion from MKV to PS3 Compatible AVCHD (Bluray) format ..
    I normally never had much problems doing this before, but since I'm doing it after about a 10 month break, I may be forgetting something :P

Also, if I've posted this in the wrong section or something, I sincerely apologize for that ..

I recently tried converting an MKV to AVCHD recently, and the playback result is that on the PS3, I just get a black screen with the audio playing in background ... and if I play the same disc on a bluray player on my PC (e.g. PowerDVD, HP's built-in player), the video plays, but its very 'blocky', although, if I go into the STREAM folder and play the M2TS from there via a normal player such as MPC, the video plays fine, with audio too ...

The MKV I'm converting has a level of 4.1 by default, is 1920x1080 in resolution .. so it should convert properly, right ?

Here are the full details if needed:

Video
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : High@L4.1
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 6 frames
    Muxing mode : Container profile=Unknown@4.1
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Duration : 2h 15mn
    Bit rate : 11.7 Mbps
    Nominal bit rate : 12.0 Mbps
    Width : 1 920 pixels
    Height : 1 080 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate : 23.976 fps
    Resolution : 8 bits
    Colorimetry : 4:2:0
    Scan type : Progressive
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.236
    Stream size : 11.4 GiB (87%)
    Writing library : x264 core 80 r1376M 3feaec2