VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    So I'm making my dvd menu's in dvdlab which is extreme easy and straight forward.
    Even the motion menu is not that difficult.
    But now I have a question about sound in menu's.

    Its easy to bring in a sound file into dvdlab and attach that to a menu.
    My problem now is that for each menu I have to attache it and so for each menu it starts over.

    Let's take I have one start menu wich is a motion menu (without a button) then I have 1 more menu with
    all the choices (so the main menu with start film, scene selection, settings).
    And then a third with the settings you can choose (audio, subs).

    How can I/Can I? make it so that I put in 1 audio file (some sort of soundtrack) that starts when the first menu starts and keeps on going until one presses 'start film'.
    So also when one first goes thru the menu's one still hears the same song going without starting over each menu you choose.

    Is that possible or is that one of dvdlab's limitations?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    It's not possible.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    damn.....thats a pitty then....

    I really like dvdlab....but are there better tools out there?
    With same functionalities (so the combi of muxing and authoring) but maybe even more extensive?
    Programs that can do the described above?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    That's a limitation of the DVD spec itself, no tool can do that.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    @lordsmurf,

    really??
    Hmmm am I then mistaken that I have seen dvd's which have background music thru all the menu's??

    Well ok if thats the case then too bad for me
    Quote Quote  
  6. Always Watching guns1inger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miskatonic U
    Search Comp PM
    The closest you can get is to create a motion menu that uses cells. You can play seamlessly through until the first menu section is complete, however if the menu changes or loops, the music will restart from the loop point or start of the next menu. Well designed menus don't use loud bombastic music, but keep the levels low and fade them up and down so changes don't seem as abrupt.
    Read my blog here.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads